Twice-Cooked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Excellent recipe! I used beer instead of water and it was a divine coating for the shrimp! Thanks Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Very good but I didn't both to bake tham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Awesome recipe! Next time I make it I will reduce the amount of orange marmalade and try adding a few dried hot chili peppers (whole) just for a little "bite" to counter the dips sweetness. Might also take up other reviewers suggestion and try a pepper jelly instead of the marmalade. I had no trouble with the batter, coconut sticking to the shrimp, etc. Make his often...it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I always use allrecipes but this was the worst one I've done. Zero flavor and cooking instructions needed to be more specific. I burnt the first 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
These were amazing and the sauce was fantastic. My husband asked me to make them again the next day. I think I'll add some panko next time but it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Awesome! I use the frozen shredded coconut that is found in the freezer section. The sweetened coconut makes the shrimp too sweet. As I cooked the shrimp I put them in an oven that I kept warm at about 200 degrees until all of the shrimp were cooked. I then preheated the oven to 300 degrees and cooked the shrimp for about 5 to 8 min. Keeping the shrimp warm kept them crispy. I will make these again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I am giving this recipe only two stars because it has two major flaws. (1) The batter is too thin, and (2) suggesting that these succulent juicy shrimp be cooked for a total of 9 minutes is criminal! Granted, if you leave out the ice water and skip the baking stage (The whole reason its called "Twice-cooked") you end up with great shrimp, but then... that's a different recipe. I'll give that recipe 5 stars, but not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Sheppard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I tried this recipe just as written. The first two batches I fried were basically fried shrimp with fried coconut on the side! Every bit came off in the frying. I tried chilling the next batch of shrimp, per one reviewer's suggestion, this helped a little, but having to "mold the coconut" onto each shrimp was way too much effort for not enough result. I ended up simply sauteeing the rest of the batch, and serving over pasta. The only thing I didn't try was to add flour to the coconut. I even tried some by making a paste of the batter and coconut...these actually did the best, but again, that was way too much effort. I have a big family, and it would take too long to get enough made for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
try this dipping sauce 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This could be very good but i wish i read the review on how to keep the coconut from falling apart before i made it. Next time i will *refrigerate before frying*. I followed the direction and baked after frying but i think that step is a total waste. I Think it was a bit over cooked. Shrimp cooks within mins so no need to bake after its cooked! Why i didn't follow my intuition, i don't know :/ The sauce i thought was very tasty. This has potential to be a 5 star recipe. Just make sure you don't 'twice-cook' it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States