Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ricotta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Awesome! I served this as a side with spicy chili, and I couldn't have been happier with the results. I love sweet potatoes and am always looking for unique sweet potato recipes...this fit the bill and got rave reviews at my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I'm so glad I happened on this recipe tonight. I had exactly 3 sweet potatoes that needed to be used up, so this fit the bill. I omitted the sage altogether since I didn't have any, and tossed in a pinch of poultry seasoning (negligible amount, actually) as I know sage is one of the ingredients. Since I didn't feel like grating the wedge of parmesan cheese, I opted to throw in some feta cheese as a substitution. Besides, if it's this fantastic with the feta, I KNOW it would be awesome with the parm. But, you know what ingredient really makes this recipe? The shallots! They create such a wonderful contrast of flavors. Since the recipe calls for them to be browned, you get little tiny flecks of brown throughout the sweet potato mixture. Exquisite! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I thought this was okay, but nothing special. I am glad I tried it, but I don't feel the need to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
These were so delicious, they were the talk of the table! I used part of a sweet onion instead of shallots, and omitted the sage. Helpful tip: when you go to remove the innards after baking, if you just squeeze gently around the skin, the potato pops right out! No scooping needed ;) Lovely addition to a Light Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I made this because I had some sweet potatoes on hand, and I wanted to use some sage we grow in our yard. My husband LOVED it, although I was kind of so-so on it. I found the sage too strong--I would cut back on it. Not that the recipe was difficult, but when you consider the time put into making it, with chopping sage and onion, measuring ingredients, the cleanup of all the pans--in my opinion, it wasn't great enough to make it worth the effort. A plain ol' baked sweet potato tastes just as good, if not better to me! Another note: don't use a blender to make this--doesn't work well. Use a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and these turned out great. They were a good balance of sweetness-- definitely not too sweet like regular peppers. My husband loved them. We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
An excellent recipe! I was suprised by the richness of flavor and silky texutre that the ricotta lended to the potatoes without the addition of butter or oil. Great flavors, great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This recipe was very good. We are not huge sweet potato fans, so this recipe was perfect because the ricotta and the onions toned down the sweet potato flavor quite a bit. We added bacon, and used a sweet onion rather than shallot and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CriticalMass

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-78 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States