Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ricotta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
These were so delicious, they were the talk of the table! I used part of a sweet onion instead of shallots, and omitted the sage. Helpful tip: when you go to remove the innards after baking, if you just squeeze gently around the skin, the potato pops right out! No scooping needed ;) Lovely addition to a Light Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
WOW! What a standout recipe. I made this for dinner Friday night, and it was so good that I changed my dinner party menu for the next might just so I could include this dish. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I sauteed the sage with the shallots. Even my husband who doesn't like sweet potatoes ate them (though admittedly, he's not raving the way I am, but he liked them well enough). Really terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This recipe was very good. We are not huge sweet potato fans, so this recipe was perfect because the ricotta and the onions toned down the sweet potato flavor quite a bit. We added bacon, and used a sweet onion rather than shallot and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CriticalMass

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Overall, very good! I'm not a fan of sage so I substituted a pinch of dried rosemary for that and did not add the sugar. The one hour first baking time yielded an oversoft potato (which I imagine could vary from the water content of one sweet potato to another)but the stuffing really makes this recipe stand out. Plan to make a large batch at one time then vacuum seal and freeze the extras to expedite future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
An excellent recipe! I was suprised by the richness of flavor and silky texutre that the ricotta lended to the potatoes without the addition of butter or oil. Great flavors, great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Even my teenage kids liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and these turned out great. They were a good balance of sweetness-- definitely not too sweet like regular peppers. My husband loved them. We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Awesome! I served this as a side with spicy chili, and I couldn't have been happier with the results. I love sweet potatoes and am always looking for unique sweet potato recipes...this fit the bill and got rave reviews at my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
An alternative to using the potato skins this recipe adapts to a small shallow casserole. I used the rosemary, oregano, thyme herbs and topped with a sprinkling of grated cheese prior to baking. Bake until bubbly on the sides & lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I'm so glad I happened on this recipe tonight. I had exactly 3 sweet potatoes that needed to be used up, so this fit the bill. I omitted the sage altogether since I didn't have any, and tossed in a pinch of poultry seasoning (negligible amount, actually) as I know sage is one of the ingredients. Since I didn't feel like grating the wedge of parmesan cheese, I opted to throw in some feta cheese as a substitution. Besides, if it's this fantastic with the feta, I KNOW it would be awesome with the parm. But, you know what ingredient really makes this recipe? The shallots! They create such a wonderful contrast of flavors. Since the recipe calls for them to be browned, you get little tiny flecks of brown throughout the sweet potato mixture. Exquisite! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States