Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ricotta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Skins didn't quite work out cleanly like the recipe called for, but it didn't matter, the taste was delicious! I'd call this Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These were very good. The only problem I had with them was that the sage was a little overpowering. I'll cut it down to about 1.5 T next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
These are delicious when done just right. The first time I made them they were great, the second time I had different sweet potatoes and they ended up over cooked - by the time there were twice baked they were just mush!! I'll def make them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Took to a holiday pot-luck and they were one of the guest favs! I used regular ricotta and replaced the sage with fresh rosemary and basil. I used fresh parm. Added bacon, parm and rosemary sprig as garnish. I had read a tip that you can pre-bake and make the filling for freezing up to 3 weeks before needed for the final bake...making it perfect for the busy holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
So Delicious! This doesn't require a food processor or even the oven. I microwaved the potatoes until done. Mashed them by hand and mixed all ingredients together. They can either be put back in the microwave to heat through or in the oven. I've done it both ways depending on if I was using the oven for something else. Very delicious and easy recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
MY OH MY these were good. I had 3 large sweet potatoes that I wanted to do something different with. I found this recipe and gave it a try. Only changes I made were I used red onion instead of shallots and dried thyme instead of fresh sage as I had neither in the house. I also add some fresh grated nutmeg. I didn't restuff the skins as they were to large for a single serving so I put everything into a casserole. We loved them the 1st night, but here is the interesting part, I put the leftovers out the 2nd night and we all thought they tasted even better. So I'm thinking this would be a great do-ahead dish for the holidays. For the reviewers who gave this less that 4 stars, it does say savory right at the top of the page. These are not the brown sugar sweet sweet potatoes from our childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Delicious and easy! Like others, I made a casserole, since the skins weren't thick enough. I also used fresh ginger and half the sage, and I didn't find any one flavor overpowering. The sage gives it a nice fall/Thanksgiving feel. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Especially if you are a fan of more candied like sweet potato dishes, the shallots, ginger and Parmesan cheese really throw things out of wack. The flavor was really bland and I really can't see how all of these flavors together could actually taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I had to change it a bit for my taste. The recipe stated to use the skins so that was my first change. I must have overbaked the potatoes because I could not use the skins so I put it in a casserole. Using a blender would have made it too smooth for my taste, I saved a couple of dishes and a few minutes time by just mashing the potatoes by hand. I despise sage so I did not use it. Based on the other reviews, and after having made it without sage, I'm sure that amount of sage would overwhelm the potatoes. I also left out the ginger and brown sugar as I wanted this to be quite different than the typical sweet, almost dessert-like sweet potato casseroles. The slightly caramelized shallots and cheeses added a great flavor on their own. With just those ingredients plus salt and pepper, I thought it was 5+ stars!! I can't wait to take this dish to share at a get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I just made this for dinner along with the caramel apple pork chops. My family hardly touched it. My husband and I have no idea how this recipe got 4.5 stars. My husband and I were talking about this and we are pretty sure that if we leave out the sage they would be much better. We are going to give these another try and omit the sage and maybe add some grated onion or top them with butter grilled onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States