Twice-Baked Sweet Potatoes With Mini Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I just made these tonight for a delayed Thanksgiving meal with my husband. I did add a little brown sugar and cinnamon and nutmeg. The taste divine, the marshmallows oh yeah! The only issue was the mixture didn't move in my blender, so I scraped it all into a bowl and used a mixer. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deathbycanon
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made a few changes. I removed the flesh and hand mashed. I was out of buttermilk so I substituted a bit of sour cream and used less milk because I didn't want it runny. I added brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. I scooped back into the potato while it was still very hot. Add mini french vanilla marshmallows - they were all I had on hand but added fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deathbycanon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made these for Thanksgiving for something different and I couldn't have been happier that I chose these. I am not a big fan of sweet potatoes, but these were absolutely delicious. I loved the tang from the buttermilk and the sweetness of the marshmallows. I think these will be our new tradition for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I did not care for these. There was definitely something missing!!! Maybe, some sugar brown, white, or honey? Another flavor dimension with a spoonful of orange juice like some other sweet potato caseroles? A spice like cinnamon? The mashed part of the potatoes was no different than making "mashed potatoes," in that it was only milk, butter, and salt. The marshmallows on top gave it a nice presentation, but it was just like eating "mashed potatoes with marshmallows on top." This would definitely have to be reworked. Or, maybe I am not getting it? I guess I was expecting a kind of sweet potato casserole taste baked inside of the sweet potato skins?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These were fantastic. I only used 2 sweet potatoes (just my husband and I for dinner), left out the black pepper, and used about 1/4 buttermilk and 2 tablespoons butter. I also added about a tablespoons of brown sugar. I didn't bother with a blender or food processor and just mixed everything into the scooped-out potato meat with a fork. I think the buttermilk really makes this dish, it adds a subtle tang that made the potatoes really good. The potato mixture by itself, before topping with marshmallows, was good enough to eat and I will probably use buttermilk now instead of regular milk when making mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Really loved this twist on sweet potatoes. Super delicious and a real attention getter. People that love sweet potatoes love love this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This has been an absolute hit in my family for three meals! I served these for Thanksgiving and my in-laws were blown away! I actually hand-mixed the filling; a bit more time consuming, but I was able to smooth the surface before topping with marshmallows for a nice finish. I highly recommend! These also re-heat VERY well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetruin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is a hit and a request every year at Thanksgiving. My whole family really enjoys them. They are kind of time consuming, but are easy to prepare ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Awesome! Love these! Everyone else loved them, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I liked the idea of the do ahead on this recipe as I love being able to prepare side dishes the night before and leaving my oven free for the turkey. This allowed me to do it and I love sweet potatoes. I used regular milk and omitted the buttermilk and added one egg and sprinkled chopped walnuts and brown sugar on top. The blender didn't work for me. I ended up mashing the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States