Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I tried entering another message about this recipe, but it didn't work. I'm the submitter. I've found that the reason people are having problems with the oil step is that they're putting entirely too much oil on each potato. I did the same thing last year....yikes! YOu can omit the oil and foil step, and just bake noramlly. Microwaving is fine, too, but check on them periodically so you don't over cook them. Also, the recipe should call for 1/3 to 1/2 cup of brown sugar. If you like it sweet, at 1/2 cup. Otherwise, leave it at 1/3 cup. We normally love marshmallows on our sweet potatoes, but we don't on this recipe because of all the other wonderful flavors. The marshmallows were overkill for us. Anyway, thanks for all the great suggestions and tips. I've tried a few myself, and while they're good, we prefer my original recipe (minus the oil step just because it really is time consuming to do that). Also, one more tip...leave enough flesh in the skins so they retain their shapes and are easier to work with. Removing too much flesh will leave you with a casserole in a dish! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Wow! What a surprise! Really rich and filling -- and really tasty. I have two suggestions. 1) Cut back on the brown sugar a little bit. As is, it's a bit too much like dessert to compliment other menu items. 2) IMPORTANT: When scooping out the flesh from the skins, leave a little bit of the potatoe flesh there to retain the shape of the skin. I found that tracing with the spoon an oval shape of the flesh to be removed was an easy way to do this. Then I just scooped out what I'd traced out. Regarding foil or no foil, I've tried both. I think using foil is a bit better, as the skins don't risk burning at all. I do not use oil in either case. Great and surprising recipe! Walnuts are a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe is very good. My husband and I both liked it very much. I had a small problem with the cooking time, though. An hour at 400 or 425 would have been perfect but at 350 degrees the skins were too soft to restuff properly and they weren't even close to being done after an hour (when the rest of my dinner was ready to be eaten).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Who are they kidding with the oiled skins?? Big disappointment! They were MUCH too soft to stuff (as we thought they might be when the recipe said to oil and wrap with foil). The filling is yummy but NO oil and NO foil! Rhonda and Jake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I was assigned "sweet potatoes" this Thanksgiving and chose this recipe. I am not a huge sweet potatoes fan, but this dish was a hit at the dinner and I even liked it. But I did follow the advice of the other review and baked the potatoes at 425 degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
OK, it's the day after Thanksgiving and you need to know these were the talk of the meal. More than one person told me these were the best sweet potatoes they ever had! My changes: Cooked at 400 for 1 hour, no oil, no foil. Be sure to keep a rim of potato in the skin to keep it's shape. I also added 2 TB of lemon juice, 1 TB pumpkin pie spice, changed the walnuts to pecans & topped with marshmallows. I have been asked to bring this again for Christmas. Thanks Shannon great find :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Me again...the sumbitter. I was in a pinch this year and I wasn't going to have time to prepare this for tomorrow like I wanted, so I used canned sweet potatoes. I can't believe I admitted that. It wasn't as good as fresh, but it worked out just fine, and still tastes pretty good. I used the same ingredients, mixed with a blender, folded in the nuts, now all I have to do is heat it up for tomorrow. I really prefer fresh, but if you're in a hurry and still want this recipe, canned sweet potatoes (good brand) worked out ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I made this recipe last year and received rave reviews! Even the 'non-sweet potato' folks enjoyed it. I did cut back on the cream cheese and brown sugar just a little, and found the flavor perfect. The nuts and vanilla add such a wonderful touch, it makes you wonder why you never tried that combo before! This year, it's the dish that everyone has requested again! Thanks a bunch to Shannon for this recipe, you've made me the sweet potato queen in my family! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This was great, but I ended up putting the mashed filling into ramekins and toasting marshmallows under the broiler. The skins were too soft to stuff, but absolutely delicious one way or the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This is a great idea; sounded so perfect. However, it has the blandest taste I have ever tasted. I had initially added more brown suger in hopes it would help; however, that is not the answer. I am on my own to come up with turning this into a very tasty Sweet Potato dish; my family would NOT eat it the way it is; YUK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States