Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Me again...the sumbitter. I was in a pinch this year and I wasn't going to have time to prepare this for tomorrow like I wanted, so I used canned sweet potatoes. I can't believe I admitted that. It wasn't as good as fresh, but it worked out just fine, and still tastes pretty good. I used the same ingredients, mixed with a blender, folded in the nuts, now all I have to do is heat it up for tomorrow. I really prefer fresh, but if you're in a hurry and still want this recipe, canned sweet potatoes (good brand) worked out ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This recipe was excellent, even my picky husband liked it. I did however add a little cinnamon to it. Also, I peeled, boiled and then mashed the potatoes and added the ingredients the recipe called for instead of scooping out and baking again. Much quicker this way. Will make many times over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Boucher-Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This was wonderful! I made a few changes - left out the pepper (as suggested by another review), used pecans instead of walnuts, and baked it as a casserole. I happened to have some fruit dip (cream cheese and marshmallow cream) in the fridge and used it in place of the plain cream cheese. This just added to the incredible richness of the dish. Even my picky husband who typically likes things 'easy and plain' loved it, especially the nut topping. Thanks again for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Kisco, New York, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I was in a rush so once the potatoes were cooked I did not put the filling back in the skin I put all in a casserole dish, left out the salt and pepper and added one teaspoon orange extract and half teaspoon nutmeg and toasted pecans on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
OK, it's the day after Thanksgiving and you need to know these were the talk of the meal. More than one person told me these were the best sweet potatoes they ever had! My changes: Cooked at 400 for 1 hour, no oil, no foil. Be sure to keep a rim of potato in the skin to keep it's shape. I also added 2 TB of lemon juice, 1 TB pumpkin pie spice, changed the walnuts to pecans & topped with marshmallows. I have been asked to bring this again for Christmas. Thanks Shannon great find :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This is a great idea; sounded so perfect. However, it has the blandest taste I have ever tasted. I had initially added more brown suger in hopes it would help; however, that is not the answer. I am on my own to come up with turning this into a very tasty Sweet Potato dish; my family would NOT eat it the way it is; YUK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I made this recipe last year and received rave reviews! Even the 'non-sweet potato' folks enjoyed it. I did cut back on the cream cheese and brown sugar just a little, and found the flavor perfect. The nuts and vanilla add such a wonderful touch, it makes you wonder why you never tried that combo before! This year, it's the dish that everyone has requested again! Thanks a bunch to Shannon for this recipe, you've made me the sweet potato queen in my family! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is so great! I've made it for three T.givings now and get lots of compliments!I dont make it in the same way though, I found it too time consuming to make into boats, so I cook the sweet potatoes (skinless) in the oven then mash them in w/ the other ingedients and then put back in oven for a few min. to heat.I also used soy cream cheese instead and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I tried entering another message about this recipe, but it didn't work. I'm the submitter. I've found that the reason people are having problems with the oil step is that they're putting entirely too much oil on each potato. I did the same thing last year....yikes! YOu can omit the oil and foil step, and just bake noramlly. Microwaving is fine, too, but check on them periodically so you don't over cook them. Also, the recipe should call for 1/3 to 1/2 cup of brown sugar. If you like it sweet, at 1/2 cup. Otherwise, leave it at 1/3 cup. We normally love marshmallows on our sweet potatoes, but we don't on this recipe because of all the other wonderful flavors. The marshmallows were overkill for us. Anyway, thanks for all the great suggestions and tips. I've tried a few myself, and while they're good, we prefer my original recipe (minus the oil step just because it really is time consuming to do that). Also, one more tip...leave enough flesh in the skins so they retain their shapes and are easier to work with. Removing too much flesh will leave you with a casserole in a dish! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States