Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This is a great idea; sounded so perfect. However, it has the blandest taste I have ever tasted. I had initially added more brown suger in hopes it would help; however, that is not the answer. I am on my own to come up with turning this into a very tasty Sweet Potato dish; my family would NOT eat it the way it is; YUK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I made this recipe last year and received rave reviews! Even the 'non-sweet potato' folks enjoyed it. I did cut back on the cream cheese and brown sugar just a little, and found the flavor perfect. The nuts and vanilla add such a wonderful touch, it makes you wonder why you never tried that combo before! This year, it's the dish that everyone has requested again! Thanks a bunch to Shannon for this recipe, you've made me the sweet potato queen in my family! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is so great! I've made it for three T.givings now and get lots of compliments!I dont make it in the same way though, I found it too time consuming to make into boats, so I cook the sweet potatoes (skinless) in the oven then mash them in w/ the other ingedients and then put back in oven for a few min. to heat.I also used soy cream cheese instead and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I tried entering another message about this recipe, but it didn't work. I'm the submitter. I've found that the reason people are having problems with the oil step is that they're putting entirely too much oil on each potato. I did the same thing last year....yikes! YOu can omit the oil and foil step, and just bake noramlly. Microwaving is fine, too, but check on them periodically so you don't over cook them. Also, the recipe should call for 1/3 to 1/2 cup of brown sugar. If you like it sweet, at 1/2 cup. Otherwise, leave it at 1/3 cup. We normally love marshmallows on our sweet potatoes, but we don't on this recipe because of all the other wonderful flavors. The marshmallows were overkill for us. Anyway, thanks for all the great suggestions and tips. I've tried a few myself, and while they're good, we prefer my original recipe (minus the oil step just because it really is time consuming to do that). Also, one more tip...leave enough flesh in the skins so they retain their shapes and are easier to work with. Removing too much flesh will leave you with a casserole in a dish! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This was fantastic! We didn't bother putting the filling back in the potatoes, it was too difficult-we just ate the mush. I'm making a log of this for Thanksgiving this year--it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Barnum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
First, I scaled the recipe down to 3 servings and it came up with 1 1/2 potatoes. So instead I made 3 potatoes and used the ingredients that it scaled to for 1 1/2. The results were just right as no one in my house likes real sugery sweet potatoes. The flavors were just right.I used the foil and folded it down around the potato like a boat and it made it easier to scoop it out and fill it.Just a little helper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
We didnt like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This recipe was rather tasty, however, i did not make it with the walnuts because of allergy and i sprinkled a little extra brown sugar on the top. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERB1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Absolutely excellent! I would definitely make these again. Just don't cook the potatoes too long, otherwise they are difficult to stuff. I added mini marshmallows to the top and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDERS70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States