Twice-Baked Ranch Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This would get five stars but for needing a few tweaks. For starters, the extra 1 1/2 cups of mashed potato is totally unnecessary, and just adds a time consuming extra step. The pulp alone is just enough to fill these beautifully. I used a chive cream cheese blend, and to top, I mixed the cheddar with 2 tablespoons each of parmesan and bread crumbs with a drizzle of melted butter. As we had the bbq on anyway, I just put these on the top rack while the meat was grilling, to warm them through and crisp the topping. My hubby said they tasted just like sour cream and chive potato chips and the kids just loved them too. This will be our go to recipe for twice baked potatoes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I thought this recipe was great! The only thing is the mashed potatoes. After removing the filling from the baked potatoes, I had a ton of filling already. There was no need to add additional mashed potatoes. I left that part out and kept everything else the same. Great flavor and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Oh my. The ranch did something so wonderful to the flavor of this recipe. This came out so good.....and I didn't even have the cream cheese. I added a little more milk until it was creamy mashed potatoes and just a little salt and it was perfect!!!! Didn't even miss the cream cheese but I know if I had it, it would be over the top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Fantastic, tangy potatoes! After reading the reviews, I opted not to use the extra mashed potatoes, and the previous reviewers were correct, there is no need. The pulp from the potatoes was more than enough with the added ingredients to fill the skins. Since I was already baking chicken in the oven, I just put these in along with it, skipping the microwave cooking. These were creamy, tangy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Added a little whipping cream bc I had it. Also not quite a pkt of ranch, and they were very ranchy, but yummy! Also only micro'd first round, baked second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Such a tasty recipe! The ranch dressing made all the difference!! I added green onions to the mixture which also added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe, but the additional potatoes are not necessary. I changed it up a bit, I used sour cream, green onion, chopped cooked bacon, cheddar cheese grated, mixed and stuffed - then added more cheese on top..... awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Like many other reviewers, I left out the additional mashed potatoes. I also added more than a 1/4 cup of cheddar on top of the potatoes. The recipe calls for one packet of dressing mix and said that it is 1 ounce, but the Hidden Valley packet was only .04 ounces. I wonder if that is why some are saying they were perfect and others are saying they were too salty. I found the .04 ounces to be the right amount for the amount of mashed potatoes. I also finished the potatoes off in the oven and not in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Used fat free cream cheese, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
These were yummy but I do admit I made several changes based on what I had. Firstly, I oven-baked the potatoes just because I had the time (I do normally microwave-bake). I didn't have the ranch dressing mix powder, so I used prepared dressing, about 1/4 cup (I also made two potatoes, as well). I used about 2 tbsp of butter instead of cream cheese and omitted milk since I used prepared dressing. There is NO need at all for additional mashed potatoes, the guts of the potates I'd baked was more than enough to stuff into the shells. I do think this would have been even better with the powder dressing mix instead of dressing, but I loved the idea of ranch twice baked potatoes so wanted to make it work with what I had and it came out well! (Here is where I will also admit I ate both of the potatoes myself.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States