Twice Baked Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I've made this recipe several times as written and as other reviewers have commented, the only draw-back is the time. I was serving them with Prime Rib last night and wanted them to look and taste up-scaled but wanted to cut the baking. I began by poking 8-10 holes in each potato, wrapping them in very moist paper towels, and microwaving them for 3-4 minutes on each side. They come out looking like potatoes baked in the oven this way. I then added 1/8 c. of sauteed onions minced in butter along with 1/8 c. of Parmesan cheese to the potato/sour cream mix. I topped them with cheese, crisp cooked bacon, and sliced green onions; broiling them long enough to be golden brown. It took about 25 minutes total. They went well with the Prime Rib and I'll definitely make it again this way for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Super easy and a good basic recipe that can be modified according to individual tastes (with chives, garlic, bacon, etc). I didn't really measure the quantities of sour cream, butter, or cheese... just tasted as I went. I also brushed the potato skins with olive oil and salt before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Love twice baked! This is how I've done them for years. Try Cheddar instead of American cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Yum! I microwaved them to save time - probably would have been better with the crispy crst you get in the oven, but still yummy! Skipped the American cheese and used more Cheddar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Always a winner. Makes a lot of potatoes. People can only eat half a potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good, the kids raved about these! The taste is fantastic but they are rather time consuming. I made them a day ahead of time so that Christmas Day I wasn't in the kitchen all day. I also coated the outside of the skins with a little water and sea salt. Very good recipe and good as leftovers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
yummy but a pain in the butt to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Have always been scared to try twice baked potatoes, but these were very easy and so good. Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Osburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I love this recipe, its super easy to jazz it up with a few extra ingredients. I add a few slices of chopped crispy bacon and some fresh chives and fresh dill to the stuffing, also, I sprinkle bacon and chives on the top after baking. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewen, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I've made twice baked potatoes many times, but thought I would follow this recipe tonight. The potatoes didn't cook after an hour on 350, so they were still pretty rock hard. They didn't come out of the skins well, so I ended up making a casserole with the ingredients. Next time I will just cook the potatoes on 450 and I'm sure they will turn out much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States