Twice Baked Potatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
Just wanted to comment on the statement's about the potatoes taking longer to bake. My mother gave me this tip. Get a "clean" carpenters nail, insert nail into unbaked potato, leave in and proceed to bake. It takes about half as long to bake with the nail in the potato then without it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Please be careful about using a "clean" carpenter's nail. It might be squeakly clean, but still coated with something that was never intended to go into your food! Specialty stores offer a tool that holds 4 potatoes upright, impaling them each with a food grade aluminum spike. Otherwise, forget about using a nail, and cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This is my husbands favorite recipe. I've been making it for years. I add either sour cream or cream cheese to the mixture. It is sooo good that way. Also, I put chives on top of the cheese of a few for my husband and myself (the kids don't like chives). Also, for a family of 5, I have to make about 6 whole potatoes, which gives me 12 halfs. They go really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This recipe is a good starting point. It must have more seasoning or it will taste like baby food potatoes!! I added scallions and some sour cream to mine. It is better to undercook the potatoes the first time a little so you can really control the amt. of pulp you scoop out without tearing the skin. When you bake them the second time anything under cook will be perfect. This will ensure your potatoes don't dry out as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This recipe was fantastic, especially as I added 1/2 cup of finely minced red bell pepper & 1/4 cup sauteed onion, a clove of garlic plus a few tablespoons of minced chives. Instead of butter and milk, I added a couple of tablespoons of light sour cream, and put half of the cheese in the mashed mixture. This is going to be a regular item at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Love twiced baked potatoes. I also put a can of mushrooms into my "baked potato" mix before scooping it back into the shell and I love to experiment with different cheeses. Gotta love these babies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheley
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I really liked this recipe simply because it was easy. I did add some garlic powder and used Colby Jack cheese. I also cut the tops off instead of cutting them in half. Just a preference but in my opinion, I think it's better this way. Overall, good recipe and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
While these are a little bit of work, they are very easy and taste wonderful! I could hardly believe it when my picky kids ate every last bite! I added some cream cheese to the mixture and it gave it a creamier, richer texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Great recipe! I use microwave potatoes to cut down on time and add cheese and garlic. I sprinkle paprika on the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I make these all the time with various alterations to accompany the main dish the best. I start with this basic recipe but consider mashing the cheese INTO the potato as well as on top. You will have that flavor baked in throughout the potatoe. Also, consider changing cheese. Cheddar is always good, but change it up. I like to use Monterey Jack, and sometimes combine both. Alternatives, as in mashed potatoes are cream cheese or sour cream. I like both and alter to whatever I have on hand, and sometimes light cream. Garlic powder is a nice alternative. And of course, bacon bits and/or chives. Lastly, I always sprinkle Paprika on top before I bake. YUM. Note: baked potatoes do take a long time, you can cut it by nuking your patatoes for a few mins before baking. NOT TOO LONG! A couple minutes is all you need. I always do this. They come out fantastic and the potato texture isn't sacrificed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States