Twice-Baked New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Everything you want in a potato dish! These were so easy to make... I recommend outlining the innards with a knife before scooping (leaves less room for error and you don't have to wait forever for them to cool). My husband and I divided the taters after the initial bake time so that we could make regular dilled new potatoes for potential guests that would be picky about all the fixins. For the twice baked, we added about an extra table spoon of sour cream to offset the cream cheese and for taste. Ooh, and parmesan cheese sprinkled on top makes them even more mouthwatering. What's even better about these is that you can freeze them for instant appetizers at a later date. For the faniciful, use a pastry bag to pipe fill into potatoes after whipping them instead of mashing. Sprinkle with cajun seasoning and your favorite herb for looks and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThreebyFiver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I made these for our Thanksgiving luncheon at work and they received rave reviews! After I stuffed the potatoes, I sprinkled a little paprika on them for a finishing touch. Delicious and fun to make, three people asked me for the recipe. Tip: In the salad dressing aisle, look for 100% bacon bits (Oscar Mayer I think), makes the recipe easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Unfortunately, this is so good, I've made it a number of times now! Unfortuante for my waistline, that is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I love this recipe! A great friend of mine had told me about this recipe, and that he had read it in "Taste of Home." It is time consuming, but it is well worth it. Fantastic recipe, and people WILL ask you for the recipe! Absolutely awesome! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes to make for company or potluck dinners. It's a really yummy, filling side dish. One pointer: I cut the potatoes in half before baking. I place the cut side down in the baking dish, then spread a little oil on the outside with a brush. After baking as directed, it is much easier to get a clean cut and scoop out the interior. Also, I sometimes make these a day ahead of time, especially if I'm rushing from work to an event. I just pop them in the oven for the final broiling step right before leaving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I made this for our Super Bowl party. Everyone said it was the best at the party. I sliced my potatoes before baking and brushed the skin with olive oil. They loved the flavorful, crispy skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Recipe was a huge hit, and they're pretty to look at too! I cut the end off a ziploc bag to pipe the filling into the little potatoes- worked great! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I LOVE twice-baked potatoes, and since my husband prefers red potatoes. This was just what I was looking for. I cooked them the way I do russets; rather than baking, I do the first "bake" in the microwave and the second on the grill. It saves time and gives them that unbeatable smoky flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladycosgrove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I followed this recipe with small modifications, increasing it to 75 servings for a wedding reception. I used larger red potatoes to serve them with an entree vs. using them as appetizers. I had a large qty of shredded cheddar so I used that instead of Monterey Jack. I also used small-diced turkey pastrami in place of bacon as I had that on hand. Delicious!! I froze them individually, then in freezer bags. For serving, I thawed them and reheated at 400* so some of the slight "mushiness" of the potatoes would evaporate quickly. Just heat through and serve. I personally don't care for potatoes very much, but these changed my mind! Will share this recipe with others and will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
The biggest hit of our holiday open house! I used yukon gold potatoes and topped with a bit of extra shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tai Tam, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States