Twice Baked Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I am a major fan of twice baked potatoes...and this is a good recipe. I did do a lot to change things up. I use shredded cheddar instead of american and I add some cream cheese to it. They come out very creamy and they taste great. Definately need to add salt and pepper to taste. This is definately a favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is a very good basic recipe. I'd only add: Spice the potatos up well according to what you like. Cook one extra smaller potato for every 2 you make so you have lots of stuffing. If you 1st bake the potatos in foil, retain the foil and roll into a U shaped strip to hold the potato halves steady for the 2nd bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
I used the american cheese slices and melted them seperate from the melted butter. Mixed the cheese, butter, sour cream in with the potatoes and added a dash of bacon bits and a couple TBLS minced green onions. The "scooping" stinks - I have yet to master it with 100% success but very good and went great with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was a hit with my boyfriend!! I followed the recipe, but I also added bacon, shredded cheddar, shredded mozzarella and some seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
I really thoght that this recipe sounded great, but I was definatly dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I always cheat and use microwave potatoes that I scoop out and then bake in the oven. For the inside, I add some garlic powder, onion powder, and mustard powder. I always use cheddar cheese or sharp cheese. You can substitue milk if you don't have sour cream. Be sure to sprinkle a little bit of paprika on top before baking. These are always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
I added shreded cheddar cheese and crumpled fried bacon! it was GREAT!! Next time I think I will add a dash of garlic salt for extra kick!! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I would recommend cheddar rather than american slices. I don't find that they melt very well. Plus with the cheddar, you can shred it and just throw it in the potato mixture while mashing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
very good and it goes with everything. My children are not very big on potatoes but they loved these. They beg me to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
bland and hard to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States