Twenty Minute Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
easy to make and delicious! also good the next day for an egg & cheese sandwich. i sometimes adjust the size for bigger/smaller buns. they rise a lot so beware. i make these every time i make burgers so there's a delicious meal, as well as no left over buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama cowpoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
These have a great light texture, I think because they contain less flour than the average recipe. As noted, the dough is indeed sticky however I mixed this in a food processor so I had no problem with the kneading. I used regular yeast (took about 20 min. longer for the 1st rise), half whole wheat flour and baked them for close to 20 minutes. They're great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Excellent recipe. Mine turned out just a little heavier than I was expecting, but I think that may be because my bread machine (on dough setting) worked the dough longer than the time called for in the recipe. Or else I used too much flour and got it a little too stiff. Even still the rolls had a great texture and taste, a special treat with grilled burgers -- a 5 star recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
These buns were awesome! I sustituted 1/2 wheat flour for a different texture and flavor and it worked out great. I'm sure they would be just as good with all white flour. Heavy, but not too dense. We used them for sloppy joes, and will definitely make them again. Kept well overnight and made for a good peanut butter sandwich for breakfast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
While I wouldn't say these are your typical hamburger bun they are really good. My family likes them for use in egg sandwiches. I use my mixer with the dough hook to stir and kneed the dough thus avoiding the stickyness. For additional sweetness I 2tb honey, I have also made them regular way. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Place relatively close together in pan for they do spread out a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
SO GOOD its just like bread youd buy from a bakery I am going to make this a lot more :) !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
First time making buns, Even with a bit of a mess up on the rising(totally my fault) they still turned out just awesome! Can't wait to have with our meal's! I doubled the batch as I wanted some to freeze as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Cooke
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
These buns are simply great! I halved the recipe and found that it fit perfectly in my 2 lb. bread machine (on the dough cycle), which cut way down on the mess (for me). Then they just needed to be divided and given a final rise on the baking sheet. I added sesame seeds on top of the egg wash just before baking. Since I made 6 buns instead of 9, I added 2 minutes to the baking time. I suggest turning the baking sheet at about 12-13 minutes for even browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Cooke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I didn't have quick yeast so I used regular and raised it a bit longer both times. Also, I made 4 HUGE buns out of this for 4 hungry people. (I filled them with a buffalo chicken salad type thing. Basically, hunks of my baked chicken mixed with Franks buffalo sauce, and then mayo, adding garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper and dried parsely to taste. This is for a ranch sauce. Blue cheese would have been fun too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States