Twenty Four Hour Layered Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
When making this salad I leave out the celery and chestnuts.. (Just my personal preference) The only other change I make to this wonderful recipe , is adding a package of Hidden Valley Ranch...This gives it such a wonderful taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I made this salad, with a few variations, for our 4th of July picnic. Unfortunately, there was so much great food, the salad barely got touched. Those that did try it liked it a lot...The good news for me is since there was so much left, I have been enjoying it for several days now, finally hitting the bottom of the dish 5 days later! And the marvel is, it's stayed fresh all this time!!! When I made it, I omitted the mushrooms and instead added broccoli flourets. I also used a whole head of iceberg because the spinach at the store looked dreadful.The dressing is simple, but compliments this salad well. I used sugar this time, but I think in the future I'll subsitiute with Splenda. I will definitely make this again, and I will cut down on the peas, too. I thought they were a bit overpowering. All in all, a wonderfully tasty salad that lasts for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELCAVELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe turned out well at a recent get together, although some people didn't care for the water chestnuts. I think next time I'll substitute the chestnuts for something else. Otherwise, it disappeared quickly! I'll defintely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This is a great salad to take to any covered dish event. It is always well received and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pinebluff, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was quite good. I was surprised at how crisp the veggies stayed with the dressing on them. I don't like sweet dressing, so I substituted some parmesan cheese and garlic powder in place of the sugar in the dressing, and that was very tasty. A good potluck salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I didn't have water chestnuts, and I forgot to put in the celery, but this recipe was still great! I really liked it in a 9x13 pan. I've seen it made in deep bowls, but this was great b/c everybody got a little bit of everything. I made it for my daughter's birthday party and everyone loved it. We had one leftover for the next day, and it was still just as good. Nothing gets soggy---its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving, and look forward to this more than anything else. I do not use mushrooms, and you could add any veggies you like (i.e. broccoli, tomatoes). The dressing is the key, as is letting it all set for at LEAST a day. (Even better -- it's done before the meal crunch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This salad was a huge hit at my son's birthday party. I used lettuce, red onion, peas, bacon and cheddar cheese and this dressing. The dressing was a perfect topper for the veggies! Great make ahead, pretty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Great salad. I didn't put the water chestnuts as my family doesn't like them. About 1/2 the chives as some times they 'take-over' the flavor of the whole salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Delicious. I left out the celery. It was crunchy and flavorful. The bacon flavor really permeates after 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States