Twenty Four Hour Layered Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Delicious. I left out the celery. It was crunchy and flavorful. The bacon flavor really permeates after 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I made this salad, with a few variations, for our 4th of July picnic. Unfortunately, there was so much great food, the salad barely got touched. Those that did try it liked it a lot...The good news for me is since there was so much left, I have been enjoying it for several days now, finally hitting the bottom of the dish 5 days later! And the marvel is, it's stayed fresh all this time!!! When I made it, I omitted the mushrooms and instead added broccoli flourets. I also used a whole head of iceberg because the spinach at the store looked dreadful.The dressing is simple, but compliments this salad well. I used sugar this time, but I think in the future I'll subsitiute with Splenda. I will definitely make this again, and I will cut down on the peas, too. I thought they were a bit overpowering. All in all, a wonderfully tasty salad that lasts for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELCAVELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
When making this salad I leave out the celery and chestnuts.. (Just my personal preference) The only other change I make to this wonderful recipe , is adding a package of Hidden Valley Ranch...This gives it such a wonderful taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This is a great salad to take to any covered dish event. It is always well received and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pinebluff, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe turned out well at a recent get together, although some people didn't care for the water chestnuts. I think next time I'll substitute the chestnuts for something else. Otherwise, it disappeared quickly! I'll defintely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was quite good. I was surprised at how crisp the veggies stayed with the dressing on them. I don't like sweet dressing, so I substituted some parmesan cheese and garlic powder in place of the sugar in the dressing, and that was very tasty. A good potluck salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I didn't have water chestnuts, and I forgot to put in the celery, but this recipe was still great! I really liked it in a 9x13 pan. I've seen it made in deep bowls, but this was great b/c everybody got a little bit of everything. I made it for my daughter's birthday party and everyone loved it. We had one leftover for the next day, and it was still just as good. Nothing gets soggy---its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This salad was a huge hit at my son's birthday party. I used lettuce, red onion, peas, bacon and cheddar cheese and this dressing. The dressing was a perfect topper for the veggies! Great make ahead, pretty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving, and look forward to this more than anything else. I do not use mushrooms, and you could add any veggies you like (i.e. broccoli, tomatoes). The dressing is the key, as is letting it all set for at LEAST a day. (Even better -- it's done before the meal crunch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I have made this recipe 3-4 times...sometimes exactly as it says, sometimes not getting the chance to let it sit for 24 hours...today I omitted spinach (couldn't find any), used mushrooms, broccoli instead of celery (to please the husband. It's always a hit! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States