Twenty Four Hour Layered Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Tried this to get more veggies involved in the feast that is Thanksgiving. I would recommend doing this in a 9x13 baking dish rather than a bowl to make for easier distribution of the ingredients while serving. Taste was very good, but just didn't go over well at the party. Oh, well......meant more for me in leftovers. Also the sour cream/mayo dressing could be doubled(or made for the side) for those who want a creamier salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shamong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Packed with flavor 24-hour salad. I've made different layered salads in the past, but not one that used celery and water chestnuts. It called for mushrooms also, but I skipped those based on personal preference. I added tomatoes instead. I liked the combination of the lettuce and spinach. I saved the bacon until right before serving. The salad was a huge hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Great salad. I didn't put the water chestnuts as my family doesn't like them. About 1/2 the chives as some times they 'take-over' the flavor of the whole salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I have made this recipe 3-4 times...sometimes exactly as it says, sometimes not getting the chance to let it sit for 24 hours...today I omitted spinach (couldn't find any), used mushrooms, broccoli instead of celery (to please the husband. It's always a hit! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving, and look forward to this more than anything else. I do not use mushrooms, and you could add any veggies you like (i.e. broccoli, tomatoes). The dressing is the key, as is letting it all set for at LEAST a day. (Even better -- it's done before the meal crunch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This salad was a huge hit at my son's birthday party. I used lettuce, red onion, peas, bacon and cheddar cheese and this dressing. The dressing was a perfect topper for the veggies! Great make ahead, pretty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I didn't have water chestnuts, and I forgot to put in the celery, but this recipe was still great! I really liked it in a 9x13 pan. I've seen it made in deep bowls, but this was great b/c everybody got a little bit of everything. I made it for my daughter's birthday party and everyone loved it. We had one leftover for the next day, and it was still just as good. Nothing gets soggy---its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was quite good. I was surprised at how crisp the veggies stayed with the dressing on them. I don't like sweet dressing, so I substituted some parmesan cheese and garlic powder in place of the sugar in the dressing, and that was very tasty. A good potluck salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe turned out well at a recent get together, although some people didn't care for the water chestnuts. I think next time I'll substitute the chestnuts for something else. Otherwise, it disappeared quickly! I'll defintely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This is a great salad to take to any covered dish event. It is always well received and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pinebluff, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States