Tuscan White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I gave this five stars, and I think people who like soup should check it out. I love this recipe, except that I dice my veggies and leave it chunky rather than puree it, and I add cooked chicken to the finished product. Other than that, I love it. My family garnishes it with Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I love beans and I'm always looking for different ways to prepare them. This soup is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
very nice tasting soup! i forgot to take the bay leaf out and blended it...oops! it's hearty and warm, like really good comfort food. don't forget the oil/basil mixture to complete it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSBENNY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this following the recipe exactly and found it to be very bland. I loved the crispiness of the topping and the pureed consistency of the soup but I think I'll find a different recipe for white bean soup next time I make it because I'm not sure how to alter this to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gast Family Recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Love it. I puree 2/3 of the cannelini beans to give it a nice thick, creamy texture (like pea soup) - it's nice and hearty on a cold night! Also, I swapped the bacon for sliced portobella's and some grated parmesan to cut a little fat but keep all the flavor. It's a winner either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This soup turned out to be so savory and warming that it is now on my list of comfort foods. Instead of using all stock, I used a combination of stock and filtered water as the base along with the wine. This made adding more salt necessary. I also omitted the carrots, and I also did not purée the soup. However, to thicken it, I smashed some of the beans on the side of the pot which allowed me to control the consistency perfectly. The bacon and the topping really make this soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This soup is excellent! Instead of cooking the bacon with the veggies, I make a ton of the bacon topping and put a great big dollop on each bowl of soup. Oh, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was very good! I made it as an appetizer, but it ended up being all we wanted for dinner! I added ham to the leftovers the next day, and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very good! I was not sure I would like but I really enjoyed it. I did not have fresh basil so I skipped the topping part and just added some more seasoning to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valle Crucis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I had to hop online and give a 5 star rating the same night I made this for dinner. I was not expecting to like this, I only made it cause my husband has very high blood pressure and the white beans are good for him. (and yes I shamelessly left the bacon in). Soooo Good. Great flavor, great texture; I followed every bit of the recipe and would not change a thing... and 90% of the time there is something I change. I encourage anyone on the fence to give this a shot, at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States