Tuscan White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
We tried this hearty, substantial soup and really enjoyed it. I used a tablespoon of the crushed red pepper flakes rather than the 1/4 spoon suggested but red pepper flakes vary in strength so I think it is a matter of adding them slowly until you get the "hit" that suits you and your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Family tested and approved....No need to change a thing. Except to perhaps double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Excellent soup! I tweaked a bit . . . Used a pound of dried small white beans (soaked and cooked) and a 12-oz. package of bacon. Left out celery and wine. Did not blend or use the basil topping. This is a soup I will make frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Very tasty. Used turkey bacon to cut down on fat and left out the celery because I personally don't like celery. An important tip- Make sure you blend the mixture in batches because if you put the entire thing in the food porcessor at once, it will leak out of the middle. I wasn't thinking and poured the whole thing and ended up losing a lot of the broth. It was still very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Love it. I puree 2/3 of the cannelini beans to give it a nice thick, creamy texture (like pea soup) - it's nice and hearty on a cold night! Also, I swapped the bacon for sliced portobella's and some grated parmesan to cut a little fat but keep all the flavor. It's a winner either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This soup turned out to be so savory and warming that it is now on my list of comfort foods. Instead of using all stock, I used a combination of stock and filtered water as the base along with the wine. This made adding more salt necessary. I also omitted the carrots, and I also did not purée the soup. However, to thicken it, I smashed some of the beans on the side of the pot which allowed me to control the consistency perfectly. The bacon and the topping really make this soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This soup is excellent! Instead of cooking the bacon with the veggies, I make a ton of the bacon topping and put a great big dollop on each bowl of soup. Oh, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very good! I was not sure I would like but I really enjoyed it. I did not have fresh basil so I skipped the topping part and just added some more seasoning to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valle Crucis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was very good! I made it as an appetizer, but it ended up being all we wanted for dinner! I added ham to the leftovers the next day, and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this following the recipe exactly and found it to be very bland. I loved the crispiness of the topping and the pureed consistency of the soup but I think I'll find a different recipe for white bean soup next time I make it because I'm not sure how to alter this to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gast Family Recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States