Tuscan Style Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I decided to make this on the spur of the moment. I didn't have the thyme, so I used dried savory instead, and I threw in a little dried basil, too. No chicken broth, so I used a beef stock base, and 3 kidney bean cans of water. I omitted the pepper because I was saving that for something else. No shell or elbow pasta, so I used low cal, high fiber short cut fettucine. ( 2 cups) I added half a bag of frozen organic leaf spinach ( the closest to fresh and much easier to use). The result was a delicious lunch! It came out great. I packaged up the rest in individual plastic containers for a few fast and nutritious, low calorie, high fiber meals. This soup will become one of my staples. It has plenty of things I love: spinach, beans, tomatoes, and pasta. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was really close to the olive garden minestrone soup. Made extra and froze it for later use. Tasty and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Very good, I was looking for a good recipe to cheer-up a friend. I had all these ingredients. Simple to make and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
So much flavor and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATIEW22
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sendai, Miyagi, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This soup is absolutly delicious. I didn't change a thing except I used my own homemade chicken broth. It was wonderful. Even my meat eating husband liked itl. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This soup was SO very delicious, simple to make and it's so healthy as well. After I added the pasta (I used tubetti) I thought it could use more liquid so I added some beef broth as well and it made it a little darker and heartier. It's very satisfying without being too heavy. I may try canellini beans next time and maybe use fresh rosemary instead of the thyme. Lots of ways to tailor it to your own taste. It would be really good with some crumbled sausage (turkey, of course!) and make an even heartier soup/stew. I strongly recommend this recipe now that the weather is getting cooler and we need some comfort foods that are really good for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This soup was WAY more delicious than I had anticipated! I've been eating it for days and am not tired of it! I couldn't tell whether that pasta was supposed to be cooked before adding to soup mixture since they said to add it and serve in 5 minutes. I used tubetti and did cook it first, then just let the soup simmer. FABULOUS with shredded fresh parmesan and hot sauce!! I will definitely make this one again...super easy, yummy and so healthy. I used Trader Joe's frozen chopped spinach; just threw the whole bag in - how easy is that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Delicious!!! My only changes were to use white beans instead of kidney beans which I don't like and added some zucchini. I love it and make a double batch so we have plenty of leftovers. I serve it with some crusty french bread and it's a filling meal which is a favorite in my house. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Zoni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This soup was very pretty but was lacking in flavor on its own. I only made minor alterations (vegetable stock instead of chicken, since I'm veg, and ditalini instead of sea shell pasta.) If I make this again, it will have more garlic, more thyme (maybe dried would work better in this case?), more spinach and less pasta. Also, I had to add another cup of stock otherwise it would have been thick stew instead of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZIREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States