Tuscan Style Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
What a simple, delicious recipe! I was generous with the fresh thyme, and the soup did not last very long in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This recipe was so good and so easy. I used 1/2 tsp. thyme in place of the fresh that I didn't have, and it was just right. I will add a little less pasta next time, probably 1/2 cup as it just soaks up all the broth. But excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I made this recipe for the first time at work for my co-workers, 8 of us. I made a double recipe and there were no leftovers. I was a little nervous about trying it out like that, but they all agreed that it is a keeper! I used low sodium chicken broth, so we could have plenty of grated cheese with it. I also substituted cannelini beans for the kidney beans and escarole for the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbakes56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gowanda, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This recipe has become a staple for my lunches. I double the recipe and freeze individual portions to take to work for lunch everyday. It freezes well and tastes just as good when reheated. I ususally add alot more thyme then it calls for - usually 10-12 stripped sprigs. I find it adds a really nice flavour to the soup base. Also, I add the liquid from the canned tomatoes to thicken the broth and add some colour. I usually add equal parts of both red and green pepper, alot of garlic, and I use canned kidney beans instead of uncooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Super tasty and healthy! I didn't have time to soak the beans so I used a can of kidney beans, so that (unfortunately) added some sodium. Also added extra pasta shells. Very hearty and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I am not normally a bean soup person, my family is, but not me. Well....this smelled and looked so good when I was makikng it that I had to try some. What a nice recipe! It is wonderful and healthy and great tasting. I cheated and used canned, drained kidney beans but otherwise followed everything to a T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
A big hit with the entire family. My husband rated it a definite "keeper." Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
3 out of 4 of my kids loved this soup. It was very easy to make, yet tasty and classy. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Wonderful! Taking "creative license", I added some chicken italian sausage, zucchini and a few hot pepper flakes. This created the need for more liquid so I doubled the broth. This has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
What a nice hearty soup. I did add full pkg's and cans of ingredients: 3 cans chix broth, 1 can kidney beans, 1 can diced tomatores, 1 pkg of frozen spinach and 1 1/2c pasta. The soup was wonderful and the boyfriend who stopped by unexpectedly enjoyed it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States