Tuscan Pork Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I really enjoyed it though it didn't come out as it should have. There is too much liquid in this in order for it to be a stir fry. You would probably need to add another tsp of cornstarch to thicken the sauce but also saute the vegetables to reduce the liquid (esp. from the frozen green beans). The can of diced tomatoes turned this more into a stew and so I decided to just go that route and added a full can (I had gotten the 28 oz. can) to the fry. Even though this shouldn't be a soup, it tastes delicious as such. It's so hearty and filling with all the vegetables and the liquid from the tomatoes, one serving will fill you up, there's no need for bread. Next time, I will probably add 3 cloves of garlic while cooking the pork. This would be a great hearty winter soup/stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Yum! One of my most favorite combinations in all the world is green beans and tomatoes. This recipe adds a couple more of my favorite things and rocks my face off. I'm not a huge polenta fan, but my guy loves it so I pan-fried it and served it on the side of the "stir-fry" (though I did taste it and it went very well with this). The brand of petite diced garlic tomatoes I got had a thickish liquid, so I only added half the cornstarch called for and it was perfect. I imagine regular diced tomatoes are juicy enough to use the full amount. Thanks for the recipe - excellent! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was very good. I subbed chicken for pork (I don’t really like pork and I didn’t want that to affect my opinion of the recipe). It was very tasty and came together very easily—and was kind of fun to make! I think when I make it again I might add a little milk to the sauce to make it a little different and creamy, but it’s not necessary. The polenta was a good touch and very tasty! I tried it with both parmigiana and mozzarella and I think I like the mozzarella a little bit more. The leftovers were just as good, if not better the next day. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I loved this dish! There were so many frsh flavors and textures. I served it over balsamic brown rice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Fabulous! Other than using more veggies than called for I didn't change a thing and it was delicious. I wasn't too sure about the polenta, having never used it before, but it was good. It took three Kroger employees to find it for me, and I live in the southwest! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is really good, my son & DH liked it more than I did. I felt it lacked a little flavor but they really liked the flavor. So I would have given it 4 stars, but since they both really liked it, and because it was a great weeknight meal, I'll give it 5 stars :) I followed the recipe very closely, the only change I made was to serve it over whole wheat pasta instead of polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I thought it was okay, but it was missing something. My 12 year old gobbled it down, but my husband thought it was bland. I followed another's advise and boiled some orzo which I thought was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was very good I served the polenta on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
My family liked this, and it certainly is easy. I put fresh garlic and the onions in before the meat and used asparagus. The sauce was not at all watery, but we like mor of it. Next time I will try adding some pepper flakes. I found it a little bland. Am I showing my age?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I used a very lean pork roast- That said, the lack of fat made it a little tough and it had an odd taste, though that of course isn't being reflected on my rating. I used a can of green beans and a can of wax beans in place of the 2 cups of frozen green beans. I also subbed button mushrooms for the cremini, and added diced summer squash, zucchini as well as two large cloves of garlic. The cornstarch isn't enough to thicken up the liquids to make this into a stir-fry, this more like a loose, but filling stew. We don't like polenta so I served this over elbow macaroni. I used Romano instead of Parmesan and mixed it directly into the dish before plating. It lacks somewhat in seasoning and I will tweak that next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States