Tuscan Cream Cheese Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This was pretty good. The only change I made was to leave out the olives since I don't like them and I didn't have any chives. I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I started out looking for a recipe for tortillas roll-ups using sun dried tomatoes and artichoke hearts. I came across this recipe and thought it might work. Turned out GREAT! I modified somewhat...first I halved the recipes, used 3/4 cup cream cheese, 1/4 cup sour cream, 1/2 tsp garlic salt (instead of garlic and salt), 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese and a splash of lemon juice. I then spread the mixture on a tortilla wrap, rolled it, wrapped it in plastic wrap, refrigerate overnight and cut into 1 inches pieces the next day. They were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This recipe is so easy and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
One word - AWESOME! The flavors are simply superb! Hubby and I made this while baking herbed Focaccia bread today. The aroma in the kitchen was heavenly! We would make the suggestion that if you do not have a food processor or manual chopper, then allow yourself at least an hour of prep time for hand chopping everything. The sun dried tomatoes, if not purchased already sliced/diced, will take a long time to cut. We used shears to cut them into strips, then cut them again crosswise into diced-size pieces. We found this to be easier than using a knife. Also, remove the outer layer or two of leaves on the artichokes; even the canned/jarred hearts can have tough leaves still attached. We changed the recipe slightly by using only the green portion of 5 green onions and left out the chives (they weren't available) and it was devine. We made additional tubs of spread to give out tomorrow with the Focaccia bread as Christmas gifts for visiting relatives. Can't wait to see their smiles! Merry Christmas everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatFlyGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Fabulous! Very simple to make....Just put everything in a food processor and let it do the work. Love the flavors. Will be serving this tomorrow for friends who are coming over for a Northern Italian feast. Very simple and tasty. Don't be put off by the negative feedback left by some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This sounded like it should be good. I followed the recipe exactly and served it at a party and no one touched it. I covered it with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge, but every time I opend the fridge the smell of garlic was overwhelming and we wound up not eating it. Maybe my guest's were full of chicken wings and meatballs but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
I've served this spread at everything from baby showers in Indiana to diplomatic receptions in Kathmandu, and it's been consistently highly praised. Incredibly easy to make, it never fails to draw a crowd of people with crakers -- and it usually draws several requests for the recipe as well. Also a bonus: because I've made this in so many varied locations, I haven't always been able to find fresh parsely or chives. Rather then throwing in dry, I usually either just left the herbs out, or added something of a similar flavor/texture. This recipe is balanced enough not to suffer from the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I made this for my dinner club and it was a big hit! It is easy to prepare and refrigerate overnight. I left the parsley out and it was delicious with toasted Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
YUM. This recipe is a delicious change from spinach dip, and all of the vegetables look like bright confetti in the cream cheese--very festive looking! Use artichoke bottoms if you don't like the sometimes tough leaves from artichoke hearts, and use top quality black olives. Definitely make the night before to allow flavors to meld. An alternative to serving with crackers would be to use the spread with hothouse (English) cucumber slices for a light snack (great for those on a low carb diet or for those who can't tolerate gluten from the crackers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I did all the chopping in the food processor, removed to a bowl, and then mixed cream cheese and garlic in the food processor. I added the chopped ingredients, pulsed a few times and was done. I did cut back on the green onions and skipped the chives. We really enjoyed this the next day, and it took very little time or clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States