Tuscan Cream Cheese Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
One word - AWESOME! The flavors are simply superb! Hubby and I made this while baking herbed Focaccia bread today. The aroma in the kitchen was heavenly! We would make the suggestion that if you do not have a food processor or manual chopper, then allow yourself at least an hour of prep time for hand chopping everything. The sun dried tomatoes, if not purchased already sliced/diced, will take a long time to cut. We used shears to cut them into strips, then cut them again crosswise into diced-size pieces. We found this to be easier than using a knife. Also, remove the outer layer or two of leaves on the artichokes; even the canned/jarred hearts can have tough leaves still attached. We changed the recipe slightly by using only the green portion of 5 green onions and left out the chives (they weren't available) and it was devine. We made additional tubs of spread to give out tomorrow with the Focaccia bread as Christmas gifts for visiting relatives. Can't wait to see their smiles! Merry Christmas everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatFlyGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Exceptional. Mouthwatering good and all flavors I love that blended together SO well. I prepared this following the recipe closely, tho' I did mince, rather than chop, the garlic, reduced the salt by half and added fresh ground pepper. I made this as part of an array of bagel spreads, but I will absolutely remember this recipe the next time I need a spread for crackers or crostini - it will be a real pleaser, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This was a wonderful compliment to our meal-great starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I started out looking for a recipe for tortillas roll-ups using sun dried tomatoes and artichoke hearts. I came across this recipe and thought it might work. Turned out GREAT! I modified somewhat...first I halved the recipes, used 3/4 cup cream cheese, 1/4 cup sour cream, 1/2 tsp garlic salt (instead of garlic and salt), 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese and a splash of lemon juice. I then spread the mixture on a tortilla wrap, rolled it, wrapped it in plastic wrap, refrigerate overnight and cut into 1 inches pieces the next day. They were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
I've served this spread at everything from baby showers in Indiana to diplomatic receptions in Kathmandu, and it's been consistently highly praised. Incredibly easy to make, it never fails to draw a crowd of people with crakers -- and it usually draws several requests for the recipe as well. Also a bonus: because I've made this in so many varied locations, I haven't always been able to find fresh parsely or chives. Rather then throwing in dry, I usually either just left the herbs out, or added something of a similar flavor/texture. This recipe is balanced enough not to suffer from the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
YUM. This recipe is a delicious change from spinach dip, and all of the vegetables look like bright confetti in the cream cheese--very festive looking! Use artichoke bottoms if you don't like the sometimes tough leaves from artichoke hearts, and use top quality black olives. Definitely make the night before to allow flavors to meld. An alternative to serving with crackers would be to use the spread with hothouse (English) cucumber slices for a light snack (great for those on a low carb diet or for those who can't tolerate gluten from the crackers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Fabulous! Very simple to make....Just put everything in a food processor and let it do the work. Love the flavors. Will be serving this tomorrow for friends who are coming over for a Northern Italian feast. Very simple and tasty. Don't be put off by the negative feedback left by some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
I substituted regular tomato for the sundried tomato cause it was just too expensive, but it still turned out great. I also left out the olives and added bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
I prepared this dip for an office party and for my-inlaws. Everyone raved! I omitted the salt the second time because the artichoke hearts seemed to add plenty. A very tasty appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I used reduced fat cream cheese. I made no other changes. This is CRAZY good. No, really. The longer it sits, the better it gets. I had this today schmeared on one half of a Bagel Thin--it took everything I had to hold myself back to go make another. EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States