Tuscan Chard and Cannellini Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is a delicious, hearty soup. Next time I would cook the bacon a bit longer before adding the onion, and I would not add the chard stems, just the leaves. I added a can of diced tomatoes with garlic because I didn't have the sundried tomatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was everything I hoped it would be... Followed the recipe in everyway but did not have fresh sage, so omitted. Can't believe that would have made it any better. It was fantastic. I did have the Parmiggiano Reggiano Rind, amazingly. So glad I found a place to use it. Just experienced the taste of Swiss Chard about a year ago and we really like it.. We have a dinner club with 3 other couples and I can't wait to share it to them. Thanks for sharing, Callinectes. I did post a picture, because this soup is worth it! Chris from Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My men said "This is a keeper!" Music to my ears. A little spicy and light. A very satisfying offering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I chose this recipe only because I had everything on hand and needing to be used with the exception of the Chard. Am I glad I did1 I did alter/add a few ingredients but I'm sure it would be fine stand alone. Increased the bacon to four slices and fried it by itself and then drained almost all the fat. Added a bit of EVO and sauteed the onion and extra garlic......can't have too much garlic. Increased the sun dried tomatoes to about 1/3 C. The Parmesan rind has to be the key to this recipe. I've seen it on TV but never tried it myself. It gave the soup a wonderful flavor. I think six cups broth is a little shy for soup, if you want it soupy maybe eight cups is better. I used four cups broth but the orzo I used was already cooked and leftover so you need to take that into account. I also increased the basil to about a 1/4C......we like fresh basil! We loved it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Very good soup, minimal effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Sullivan
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
We loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was fantastic. I used bullion to make the chicken broth, and Asiago instead of Parmesan, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Loved it! didn't have the parmesan rind, but added some shredded just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Interesting to try, and certainly not a bad soup. I've made countless soups similar to this but the flavor of this was different, one that neither Hubs nor I were particularly fond of. Since it was the only ingredient I've never used before in soups, and since I didn't use the optional nutmeg or red pepper flakes, my guess is that it was the fresh sage that we didn't care for, that we thought gave this an odd flavor. Omit it (and maybe even the basil too) and this would be a far better soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This soup was great, however I had some left over sausage and bacon and collard greens and added those to this soup recipe. It turned out fantastic. I would make this soup again and make the same additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States