Turtles® Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amcg27
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I have made this cheesecake multiple times (including as the groom's "cake" at our wedding --my husband loves it), and it's always a hit! I melted and mixed the chocolate chips into the batter the first time I made this, and it was too rich for us, so I either mix half into the batter unmelted or divide the caramel, pecans, and chocolate chips and sprinkle half of each on top of the crust, as the recipe calls for with the caramel and pecans, and use the other half on top of the cheesecake for decoration. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I was not a big fan of this cheesecake. The flavors did not blend together. The caramel layer was too much and did not seem to go with the cheese cake. Maybe a layer of chocolate or nuts on top of the caramel would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mimie C.
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Since the first time I've made it, it has been a favorite. Family members rave about it and tells everyone about how delicious it is. It's a rich and decadent dessert that will be asked for again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimie C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Try the original before making suggested changes. It is delicious as is. I like oreo as much as the next person but the original really gives a vanilla/caramel taste that contrasts the chocolate. And the melted chocolate chips create a smooth consistent chocolate flavor in every bite. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This cheesecake was amazing! I did make a few changes to the original recipe: i) I substituted oreo crumbs for the crust, ii) I made a chocolate swirl cheesecake by adding the melted chocolate to only a portion of the prepared cheesecake filling, and I also added some mini chocolate chips to the batter iii) I did not have caramels but I did have some butterscotch chipits, so I melted the chipits down, added some milk, corn syrup and a bit of oil and it worked out great! iv) I saved some pecans, melted chocolate and melted butterscotch to garnish the top of the cheesecake. I will definitely be making this impressive cheesecake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swanzetta E Jones
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Its my first time make cheesecake from scratch. I used two tsp of vanilla ,I mix half a cup of unsweetened cocoa in the crust, three eggs, I maked salted caramel and pecan walnuts chocolate chip mixed with some nilla wafer crumbs and the caramel over it. I was so good. I thought I was doing something special with nilla wafers but look on here and there it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swanzetta E Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kel7298
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent cheesecake. I did mix it up a bit but the overall base was the same. Will definitely make again. ***see my picture***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The caramel is runny, the flavor of the filling is poor at best. It's not even worth the try to fix it up. There are better recipes to use for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Loved it!!! I made it w the Oreo crust and instead of mixing in the chocolate, I melted it and drizzled across the top then swirled with a knife before baking. It turned out so well that there is never one crumb left! I do advise putting it in a water bath to prevent cracking the cake. This is a no brainer. Even if you are a novice cheesecaker, YOU CAN DO THIS! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This cheesecake was delicious! Unfortunately for me, I do not know how to use or even have a spring form pan so instead I bought two Oreo pie crust and made two cakes with those. I reduced the cooking time by 15 minutes. I would suggest checking often for each over is different. I did not want to make it to chocolaty so I just mixed the chocolate chips in with the pecans. I only mixed half a cup of the pecans in with the batter and saved the other half to be on top of the cakes. I poured some caramel on the bottom of each cake and saved the rest for the middle and top of the cakes. I only filled half of the batter up in each pie then swirled some caramel around then layered the rest of the batter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States