Turtle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Rich but very good. Very easy to prepare. Much better than the usual pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
This is a quick and easy pie to make. The caramel that is called for in this recipe with the brown sugar, condensed milk, and Karo syrup is quite versatile and can be used for other caramel needs. I only made half the recipe, and it chilled quickly and was delicious. The only thing I would recommend is cutting the caramel by 1/4 because what happens is that it overpowers the pie crust and the chocolate topping. Also, instead of using a regular pie crust, I made a chocolate cookie crust. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
absolutely sinful and so very delicious. more for wintertime than summer but I'm going to do it a lot when the frost comes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
This pie was so, so, SO good. It was unbelievable--and I don't even like pecans! We made two for my father's birthday--I made one and my 13 year old niece made one. They were fabulous, but *very* rich for our family's tastes--and we are rather hearty eaters of sweets. My only complaints are that it *is* time-consuming (to wait for it to cool) and that it does get gooey with only minimal time at room temperature. But I really can't say enough nice things about this recipe--it was so fabulous and exotic flavored, and yet a 13 year old was able to do it with no trouble. Bravo to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I brought it to my family's Thanksgiving and they couldn't get enough of it! It is wonderfully sweet and very addicting! I can see why it sold in restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I never thought I would say something is "too sweet" but this is! I would never make this again. I did make it the way the recipe called for, I guess if you cut the caramel in half it might be okay...but i dont feel it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Difficult to rate this because I thought it was just average and not a particularly impressive presentation - in my opinion you might as well just soften a few Snickers bars in the micowave. However, my husband thought it was DIVINE and most other guests seemed to enjoy it. I followed the advice of others to reduce the sweet ingredients by 1/4th, used an oreo cookie pie shell and garnished it with whipped cream. It is very easy to prepare and a good desert for a casual dinner or party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I made these into tarts instead for christmas. I topped it off with a dollop each of the chocolate topping and finished with a pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Good, but sickening sweet and just too rich. My husband could eat sugar out of the bag, but this was even too sweet for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
If you want rave reviews try this one. It's a bit too sweet for my tastebuds but it never fails to please. My co-workers and family members have begged for the recipe. I love to make it because it's so simple and at the same time so pleasing to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States