Turtle Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
These are good, but I had to make a few changes to the recipe, and alter things along the way. Even when you indent the cookie, it will still flatten out a lot. On my first batch, it looked like none had been indented at all. While the cookies were still warm, I used the back of a measuring spoon (I have the rounded kind) to make a hollow in the center. I also baked these at a higher temperature - 375 degrees - for 13 minutes. The edges of the cookies were just starting to brown. When I baked for 15 minutes at 325, they weren't browning at all. Warning - be careful when filling with caramel sauce. I overdid it on most of mine and the caramel started running off the cookie. I also did my chocolate topping a little differently (used the chocolate glaze recipe from the "Carmelitas" recipe submitted by Terri). A little too much caramel and chocolate has made for some messy cookies! Oh, I also didn't roll in pecans. Can't think of anything else at the moment. I'll know more tomorrow when they set up a bit more and are (hopefully) enjoyed at my neice's christening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I made this for my mom and dad and they looooved them.They were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef_christi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Probably the best cookie I have ever made!! I won the most unique cookie at the girlfriends annual cookie exchange. The dough is so easy to make and I used Carmel dip which glissened beautifully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Beebe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
The only thing I did was put my nuts in the dough that egg wash rolling. I only had walnuts today so thats what I used, and I had homemade carmel so used that. The indents were ok but who needs an indent spread the whole top with carmel then chocolate! I also used my tiny ice cream scoop to scoop the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milbridge, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I had the same problem as others with the indentation disappearing when they were baked. Very easy problem to solve by doing what the other reviewer suggested using the back of a measuring spoon to do it again while they were still very hot. My husband loved these. I made half with the nuts and half without. They were good with or without them. I made my own caramel since I didn't have a jar of topping. Recommened for anyone not expecting an everyday cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I loved this recipe! I followed the directions exactly, and it turned out wonderful. Everyone in my family loved them! I used apple caramel dipping sauce and fudge, it was so delicious. It only took about 10 minutes to prepare and I baked them for 15 minutes. I did what the other reviewers suggested and indented the cookies after they were baked. I also just put a dallop of fudge on top of the caramel instead of covering the whole thing. I would definately reccomend this recipe to EVERYONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Yummy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Lilmissbowen
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This recipe is good but I changed a couple of things: Instead of having chopped nuts, I replaced it with "Heath Milk Chocolate Toffee Baking Bits" and I left the cookies in the oven about 5 min. longer. Even though I made a few changes, I think that the recipe it's self is pretty good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States