Turtle Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Made this recipe last night. I think when they say 1 can evaporated milk they mean the half can that you can buy at the supermarket. I mistakely used the whole can and ended up pouring over 1/2 out. Like others said the caramel was way too runny! Mixed some of that mixture with 1/2 of the cream cheese mixture to add extra caramel flavour. This cheesecake is by far AWESOME!!! Please make it, you and others will not be disappointed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I bake each month for the office birthdays and this cheesecake was a HUGE hit with everyone. I already had graham crackers crushed, so i used them to make the crust. I've already been warned this will be a regular request from the gang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Spray the bottom of the pan with cooking spray, put parchment paper on top of that, then spray the paper. Otherwise it sticks horribly to the bottom. Also, just nuke the caramels with evaporated milk. Same for chocolate chips. Much easier, faster & less messy. Finally, definitely use a pre-made oreo cookie crust!! (Forget the graham cracker crust.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This turned out magnificent! Beyond my expectations. Like some others I made the crust into an Oreo cookie crust, didn't mix the chocolate into the cheesecake but marbled it and some caramel into it. I also did the chocolate/caramel/pecan topping. It was perfection and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was super yummy! (I was too lazy to unwrap the caramels and had a jar of caramel ice cream topping that I used instead.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I was very intimidated at the thought of baking a cheesecake but this was a gift to my husband for Valentines day. My family all agreed it was the best cheesecake they had tasted. I would only suggest having extra caramel, chocolate and pecans on hand to decorate the top as it is in the photo! Five stars for yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaxwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe! I made a couple of changes. I used chocolate crumbs instead of vanilla wafers. I reserved some of the cheesecake batter - to half I added the melted chocolate chips and the other half, I added some of the caramel sauce. I swirled these 2 into the other batter before baking. When the cake came out and was cool, I put some reserved pecans and caramel on top. Then, because I had some semisweet ganache on hand, I melted the ganache and drizzled that on top too. What raves I received! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONASPROF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I used an oreo crust, chocolate chips in the batter, and premade caramel sauce per other comments and loved it! I took this to a super bowl party and got rave reviews! Definitely take the extra time to toast the pecans. I topped the cheesecake with crushed pecans and chocolate ships and caramel and chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
this was the best cheesecake i have ever eaten! i did make a few changes thought. I used vanilla oreos in place of the vanilla wafers. I also didnt mix the chocolate in with the cheesecake mix, instead i melted it and poured it on top with some carmel and crushed pecans. i will always use this recipe when making cheesecake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
i actually found this cake to be way too sweet... the cookie/caramel bottom was just over the top... but perhaps with some tweaks, i'd like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States