Turtle Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
My daughter and I made this for our family for Christmas Eve dinner. We never made a cheesecake before. We appreciated everyone's comments. The cheesecake turned out simply delicious and looked beautiful. Our family LOVED it and talked about it for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is sure to please any crowd. I made it once and had many request to make it again. I followed someone's suggestion and used the Oreo crust instead of vanilla wafers, and used the mini chips in the actual cheese part, it turned out perfect. Next time I make it, I think I will buy the dipping caramel instead of unwrapping all 50 candies (what a pain).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Really yummy, but I had minor crust issues. When I poured in the filling my crust all pushed to the outside. I think next time before pouring in cream cheese mix I'll put in freezer to set up for 30 minutes or so. Otherwise...awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Yummy! I followed the advice of other reviewers & made a few revisions. I made an Oreo crust & added mini chocolate chips to the batter instead of melting them. I also took the easy way out & used Marzetti's caramel dip in place of melting caramels. I garnished the cheesecake with pecan halves & drizzled melted semisweet chocolate over the top. People raved & couldn't believe I made it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAIL1952

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is great! Here are some good hints to make it better: Use oreo cookie crumbs instead of vanilla wafers. Build up the sides of the crust and only pour the caramel close to the edge, but not all the way to the edge. When I poured it to the edge it made a large build up of caramel that was very hard. Also, allow the caramel to cool before pouring the cheese mixture on top of it. When making the cheese mixture, allow the cream cheese to come to room temp before mixing. That will make it a richer and smoother filling. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hadorsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angelatron
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I have made this twice, once with crushed oreo cookies, and once with oreo crumbs. If you just do the crumbs, 2 c is way too much in comparison to the butter and my crust was falling apart like crazy. If you do the oreo cookies, 2 cups is enougfh, but you have to make sure to put some wax paper on the bottom of the pan so that the crust will come off with the cake. other than that i did everything else the same as the recipe, except always milk chocolate chips and a few more of them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelatron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was my first attempt at a cheesecake. I was a little nervous about the whole process, but the recipe was easy to follow. It turned out great and delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Simply delicious!! Instead of completely combining the chocolate with the cream cheese mixture, I folded it in, allowing for a swirled effect. Looked and tasted superb! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Naomi Gtz
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was a great cheesecake. Remember not to overbeat the batter because it will rise in the oven, then fall just a little after you take it out. This is a baked custard. The protein in the eggs is what binds it together in the baking process. The best thing about this cake is how much fun it is to decorate. You can use chocolate, caramel, and nuts in any creative way. This dessert was a great presentation at our Christmas party. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This cheesecake is fantastic! I used oreo crumbs instead of vanilla wafer crumbs, and milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. I, like many others, just added the chocolate chips to the batter without melting them. I also used caramel ice cream topping instead of melting caramels. It turned out great! I sprinkled a few chocolate chips and pecans over the top and drizzled a little bit of caramel, after the cheesecake had cooled for about an hour. It looked professional, and tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States