Turos Csusza (Pasta with Cottage Cheese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is truly authentic, just like my Hungarian grandma would make. I used bow-tie pasta instead of the egg noodles, and used a whole bunch more of bacon because it seemed the amount for the recipe wasn't enough to evenly distribute the little bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is one of my favorite foods. A Hungarian friend started making it for me years ago. She uses the exact same recipe only cooks it on the stove top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chastity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I didnt think it would taste that great but tried it anyway-I am glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Charlee, this is really good! I didn't use bacon (because I didn't have any)...instead did as one reviewer suggested and caramelized onions. I added a little balsamic vinegar & brown sugar as I was sauteeing them to add sweetness and nice color - and used whole wheat noodle pasta. The taste reminded me of the noodle pudding I ate when vacationing in Prague.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
The best Hungarian comfort food ever! My family and I were in Hungary 2 years ago and my aunt asked what we would like for dinner - I requested she make this. My husband and son cleaned their plates. The recipe is exactly how my mother used to make it, don't chagne a thing (we don't broil or bake -just serve as is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Gate, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I've made this dish for over 40 years now. I recently introduced my new husband to it and he loves it. My only omission is the bacon. Since we are cutting down on fat, I just use the noodles and cottage cheese and put it under the broiler to heat the cheese and brown it just a bit. If you want to sweeten it a bit, carmelize chopped onions in a little butter or substitute and mix with the noodles before adding the cheese. Also can use the left over dough from making perogies to make the noodles for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This was the worst recipe I have made so far on this site. I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Yum - Leftovers don't look very good but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
good. Everyone liked it but the 11 year old. Not being Hungarian I don't know if I'll make again but I thought it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKBRECK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I found this to be very, very rich. But good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States