Turos Csusza (Pasta with Cottage Cheese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
My mom used to make this when I was a child and I had forgotten all about it until your post. It sounded bland and it had ingredients we typically don't keep in the house but I tried it anyway and was pleasantly surprised. I didn't have bacon so I used leftover smoked sausage, used lactose free cottage cheese and sour cream and served it with a little pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I like to add some dried chives to this recipe. The flavor is subtle but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I am Hungarian and love this dish. The only thing I always do is use farmers cheese instead of cottage cheese, and put about 2 tablespoon of bacon grease on the cooked noodles for more favor. Jo etvagyat mindenkinek a fini turos csuszahoz! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This came out really tasty, but I did alter this a bit. I used fat free cottage cheese and reduced fat sour cream, and also decreased the amounts quite a bit. I used about 1 cup of sour cream and about half a carton of cottage cheese. The amounts listed here seem way too much, but that's just my personal taste. I used just a sprinkling of real bacon bits also. I like to cook as low cal as possible so bacon is not something I buy often. I also added some sliced scallions on top of this and lots of freshly ground pepper. I skipped the oven part, I just mixed it all together on the stove top. I enjoyed this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatriotsPrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I was tempted to add carmaleized onion to this because I was concerned it might be bland, but I stayed true to the way the recipe was written. I used low fat, small curd cottage cheese and low fat sour cream and I was quite happy with the results. The baking time is way off, mine needed 30 minutes, but that is easily remedied. Thanks for a great quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I'm sorry for the few stars but even though American folks seem to like this recipe it is not a túrós csusza. That's primarily because cottage cheese does not exist in Hungary. We use "túró" (hence the name) which is a slightly curdier version of what you buy in the US as farmers' cheese. We don't mix the pasta with sour cream, rather the cheese itself, and top it with the sour cream before putting it in the oven. Alternatively, the sour cream is mixed in with the cheese. Trust me, it is the right cheese that really makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I've never had traditional Turos Csusza and I found this recipe looking for a way to use some extra cottage cheese. I was pleasantly surprised at how well it turned out...however, I had to take away a couple of stars because the cooking time did not work out for me. After adding sour cream and cottage cheese, the dish had significantly cooled down and even after 10 minutes in the oven, it was on the cold side. My family wasn't impressed...but when we reheated leftovers in the microwave today and had the dish warm, it was MUCH better. I should have left it in the oven a lot longer, or added the ingredients in a pot on the stovetop, as others have done. Also, I personally feel that this dish could have used much less sour cream. I would make this dish again, but I'd have to play around with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I really didn't get this recipe. It didn't taste bad, but it could be so much better. Why only 3 and 1/2 slices of bacon for a whole pound of pasta? It wasn't enough to even give it flavor. Also, it calls to only bake in a 350 oven for 3-5 minutes?? This dish is still cold! It totally lacked flavor all around. Maybe I don't get Hungarian dishes. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I was a little nervous about the combo of ingredients. But I had a container of cottage cheese I needed to use and I was feeling adventurous! Boy, was I glad I tried it-my husband was REALLY happy! I made a few modifications-I didn't have bacon so I added chopped ham on top. In the oven it became really crispy. I also added 1/2 a container of onion dip and 1/2 sour cream. It really added to the flavor. This is a keeper!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I had high hopes for this recipe but found it average. I used bowtie noodles and fat-free sour cream and cottage cheese. The bacon was the best part and it just lacked something in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States