Turnip with Coconut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This turned out good despite my not having any turnip greens and totally forgetting the coconut. The only thing I didn't like so much was a slight bitterness, which I'm guessing was either the mustard seed or asafoetida. But nobody else seemed to notice it but me. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Instead of asafoetida powder, I used a clove of garlic. This has wonderful taste, with great spices to tame down the pungency of turnips! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
A keeper for us-- always looking for good ways to prepare the CSA bumper crop of turnips. Made as directed except for: skipped the optional ingredient, added a small amount of garlic, and added some tofu at end to make it into a one dish meal. Hearty and interesting flavor combination. Make sure to use unsweetened coconut-- I almost grabbed the wrong one out of the pantry and I think that would have ruined it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
I made this the first time and made some errors. First oil. I don't like vegetable oil so I used olive. After it was too late, it occurred to me that I should have used coconut oil! So I then added some coconut oil. Then I used a little mustard instead of mustard seed. And finally I didn't steam with a little water but just used the heat from the oils. It was a little bitter so maybe it was the leaves. I will try this again with more care. I think it'll be a good turnip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Welch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
My husband thought he was eating scalloped potatoes. He's not adventerous with out of the norm veggies. Turnips were never a menu item for us. Since turnips were recently a part of my weekly CSA, I had to look for new recipe ideas. This was very tasty. I omitted the asafoetida powder and substituted cumin for turmeric since I don't have this spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was amazing. We are low carb and this was a super substitute for potatoes. I followed directions except for the powder that I have never heard of that she said was optional. I used garlic instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This was SO good! I did not have mustard seed so used celery seed and 1/4 tsp dry mustard instead. Absolutely fabulous way to use turnips and the tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Loved the addition of the coconut. Made for a very pleasing dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Looks and tastes good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caro Salvatierra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I hate tumeric and I hate coconut. But when you put the two together, WOW! I was halfway through cooking, tasted, and thought I was doomed. Added the coconut and fell in love. Actually, the more coconut the better! Great recipe, thanks rubiabecka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut and Lime Grilled Kale

Coconut and lime marinated kale cooked on a grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States