Turnip with Coconut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This turned out good despite my not having any turnip greens and totally forgetting the coconut. The only thing I didn't like so much was a slight bitterness, which I'm guessing was either the mustard seed or asafoetida. But nobody else seemed to notice it but me. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Instead of asafoetida powder, I used a clove of garlic. This has wonderful taste, with great spices to tame down the pungency of turnips! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
A keeper for us-- always looking for good ways to prepare the CSA bumper crop of turnips. Made as directed except for: skipped the optional ingredient, added a small amount of garlic, and added some tofu at end to make it into a one dish meal. Hearty and interesting flavor combination. Make sure to use unsweetened coconut-- I almost grabbed the wrong one out of the pantry and I think that would have ruined it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was amazing. We are low carb and this was a super substitute for potatoes. I followed directions except for the powder that I have never heard of that she said was optional. I used garlic instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This was SO good! I did not have mustard seed so used celery seed and 1/4 tsp dry mustard instead. Absolutely fabulous way to use turnips and the tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Loved the addition of the coconut. Made for a very pleasing dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Looks and tastes good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I hate tumeric and I hate coconut. But when you put the two together, WOW! I was halfway through cooking, tasted, and thought I was doomed. Added the coconut and fell in love. Actually, the more coconut the better! Great recipe, thanks rubiabecka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States