Turnip Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is a great use of turnips. I used 1/2 the sugar and added 3 tablespoon of greek yogurt and a 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is very tasty recipe (I also had too many turnips from my farm share and needed to find something to do with them). However next time I think I would use less oil and add a little white vinegar to up the tangy factor. I also followed others advice to cut the sugar in half and I agree with that. I'll experiment and make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
We just had this for Easter dinner! It went fantastically with spiral ham! Will defintely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I have never been a fan of turnips but had some I wanted to use. This recipe was delicious and has turned me into a fan of turnips. Will definitely make this again. I did add carrots with the turnips as I cooked them. We do not like soft, mushy vegetables so only cooked them about 10-15 minutes. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I've never had turnips before and got 2 from a co-op. I wanted a summer friendly dish. Not sure what size the turnips should be but I had a med, & large one and it seemed to be the right amount for the recipe. I added 2 more slices of pineapple & reduced the sugar. I thought it was a unique, good salad for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I can not say if this is good R not...? Sounds good to me, but my question is(after reading the ingretidents) what is orange in the Pic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by railgal
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I added the picture. My recipe has carrots, which were cooked with the turnips, and I didn't peel the apples. The first time I made it as written, but it was just so bland looking, but it wasn't bland. Quite delicious. I did cut the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I thought turnips were just for stews. Then they showed up in my farm share and in 90 degree weather, I just wasn't in a stew mood! This attracted me for its uniqueness. It was amazingly delicious! The family loved it . I mentioned it to coworkers, so then had to bring them some to taste--it was inhaled! Can't wait for a potluck so I can make this and surprise everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I made this with Splenda instead of sugar and with half the oil. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I needed a recipe for turnips and this turned out great. My husband liked it and didn't even know it had turnips in it until I told him. I added less than half the sugar that the recipe called for and it was still surprising sweet and tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States