Turkish Red Lentil Soup with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have been using allrecipes.com for years and have never bothered to write a review. However, this soup is so good, that I would be doing the public a disservice if I did not ever write one for this soup. I love, love, love this soup. I make it exactly as written, but I'm often out of mint; it tastes just as fine without it. I sometimes add a dollop of sour cream or some heavy cream if I need some more comfort with my meal. I have doubled and even tripled the recipe without a hitch. Tell your friends and family... this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Not a fan of lentils, but love this soup! I made a few substitutions, based on what I had on hand. Used regular lentils (1 cup), no rice or bulgur. Fresh tomato, not canned. Chili powder to replace cayenne pepper. Pumpkin puree (yes, Libby's pumpkin) instead of tomato paste. You can't taste the pumpkin. Used as a thickener. Pureed the soup with my immersion blender. Great stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baker at  heart
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Yummy!! I added lemon juice and used butter instead of olive oil. I omitted cayenne pepper. Served each bowl un puréed (I enjoy the textures!!) with a dollop of Greek yogurt. The mint & lemon are a delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Way too much spice! I'll try this again without the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Wow. Cayenne and mint are my new favorite power couple. The only change I made was to use fresh mint instead of dried (and adjusted the measurement accordingly) since I had some to use up. This soup and a loaf of bread with some soft cheese made a perfect dinner. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I wasn't sure what the finished soup would taste like, but I had all the ingredients so I gave it a try, and it's absolutely delicious! Since I used some leftover RoTel diced tomatoes with "hot" green chiles, I cut the cayenne pepper down to a 1/4 tsp. Lastly, after pureeing it to not entirely smooth, I stirred in about 1.5 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice. That just put it over the top!! I'm sure I'll make this often, it's SO good...thanks, Jenna. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
We really enjoyed this one. I had no wheat, so I used double the rice (used brown), and cut the cayenne to a pinch. My toddler ate three bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This soup is absolutely delicious! I first made it about 1-1/2 years ago and it instantly became a family favorite. My husband, who used to not like anything spicy hot, told me the first time he tried it that it needed to be hotter! (I used only 1/4 tsp cayenne the first time). We use olive oil (although today I'm trying coconut oil) and a vegan chicken broth to make it a completely vegan recipe. I also use 3/4 - 1 whole cup of red lentils because I love them, and 1/2 cup bulgur wheat - omitting the rice, because it's just easier since we don't eat white rice, and I don't want to deal with brown rice cooking times. Thanks for an AWESOME, healthy, scrumptious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Love, love!! Reminds me of delicious Turkish food!! Oh how I miss the food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made it exactly as per recipe and it was/is delicious!! I lived in Turkey for 4 years and this brought me back to all the delicious food! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States