Turkish Red Lentil 'Bride' Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Made it just as the recipe said to and it was delicious! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very good and tastes close to the authentic soup. I used chicken broth and then used a blender at the end to make the texture smooth. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I made this soup only because I had some leftover dried mint I wanted to use up. This soup is AMAZING!! Very delicious, healthy, easy to make, and even my kids liked it! I have made it several more times, and it is always a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
It's not that this soup is amazing, it's just that I keep trying lentil soups and this seems to be the only one that is all about the lentils, and is not dominated by other flavors or spices. It is easy to make too. All the ingredients fit right in a pan I have with 3" sides and the lid worked great to simmer it. I used 2 level tblsp of low-sodium broth paste to the 8 cups of water. I figured I could add sea salt at the end if it needed more. I am not too familiar with bulgar and it tasted a lot to me like barley. I liked the addition of the lemon flavor. I just used a little squeezed lemon juice. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is a tasty, filling, easy to make soup. It is good with chicken broth or vegetable broth. It tastes best the next day (or the day after), when it takes on a creamy consistency like dal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Okay. See Notes for customizing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Lovely soup! I cooked it in the pressure cooker and cut cooking time in half :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I made this soup for a Turkish friend and she agrees that it’s very close to authentic and delicious. My only suggestion is to keep the lid on the pot as the lentils and bulgur absorb a lot of the liquid. I like heat so I doubled the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Really easy to prepare and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is great! I made a quite a few changes, only because I wanted to use up what we had in our cupboards. It's a great recipe, and is very forgivable, so I'm still rating it 5 stars. I want to report the ingredients I used, so people know the substitutions will work. First, I used half red lentils, and half brown, chicken broth instead of vegetable stock, chopped sundried tomatoes instead of tomato paste, lemon juice instead of sliced lemons, and left out the mint. Wow, I guess I really did change it up. But even with these substitutions, the soup was great. This will be my new favorite go to soup recipe! Cheap, easy, and tastes great. Can't get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States