Turkish Red Lentil 'Bride' Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Cheerios
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
As a cook who likes to eat a lot of vegetarian recipes for my main course meal this soup is a very good source of vegetable protein with red lentils that is so easy to make and rewards you with a very delicious bowl of soup with the lemon slices added for a garnish that gives the soup nice tang. The one change that I made was to add oat bran instead of bulgur that did not seem to make a big difference to the outcome of this soup. I would certainly recommend this soup to others who are looking for an easy soup to make that is very nutritious for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I was invited to a Turkish themed dinner. This soup was good. I had never had any Turkish food before and this was a good first step. Good unique flavor. This soup was so thick it didn't even need a bowl, I wished I had some crusty bread to dip. I will pass this receipt on to my mother who is a vegan, it will be a good new addition to her menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Jones Rivera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Made it just as the recipe said to and it was delicious! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very good and tastes close to the authentic soup. I used chicken broth and then used a blender at the end to make the texture smooth. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I made this soup only because I had some leftover dried mint I wanted to use up. This soup is AMAZING!! Very delicious, healthy, easy to make, and even my kids liked it! I have made it several more times, and it is always a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
It's not that this soup is amazing, it's just that I keep trying lentil soups and this seems to be the only one that is all about the lentils, and is not dominated by other flavors or spices. It is easy to make too. All the ingredients fit right in a pan I have with 3" sides and the lid worked great to simmer it. I used 2 level tblsp of low-sodium broth paste to the 8 cups of water. I figured I could add sea salt at the end if it needed more. I am not too familiar with bulgar and it tasted a lot to me like barley. I liked the addition of the lemon flavor. I just used a little squeezed lemon juice. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is a tasty, filling, easy to make soup. It is good with chicken broth or vegetable broth. It tastes best the next day (or the day after), when it takes on a creamy consistency like dal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Okay. See Notes for customizing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Lovely soup! I cooked it in the pressure cooker and cut cooking time in half :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I made this soup for a Turkish friend and she agrees that it’s very close to authentic and delicious. My only suggestion is to keep the lid on the pot as the lentils and bulgur absorb a lot of the liquid. I like heat so I doubled the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States