Turkish Red Lentil 'Bride' Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
First time I saw "Bride's soup" on allrecipes! Awesome. I had been winging it for a while. The only difference I made was that I added Sumac (a purple Turkish spice) and cooked with a pinch of lemon salt. (Squeeze of lemon while cooking will work too, in addition to the lemon slices at the end that are already mentioned.) I cook the lentils first, then hand-blend, then cook the bulgur after. And also, just because I only ever have this on hand, I always use fresh Miso paste for my stock for all my soups and I think it makes no difference. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing! My fiancé and I lived on Bride's soup when we were in Turkey, even though the traditional "Lentil çorba" is more common...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burntgrilledcheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is one of the best soups I've ever made!! My grocery store did not have vegetable stock so I used vegetable broth instead and also added some extra powdered broth because it tasted a bit bland. I also added some finely chopped cauliflower. 10/10 will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Alimonos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great cool evening main dish. We had a baked potato on the side. I did make it a bit different, since there was fresh mint in the garden, I diced to very fine the mint and used 1/4 cup leaves, and cooked it with the entire batch of broth at step 3. For the broth used for broth the mushroom flavored 'better than bouillon brand, 1 teaspoon for each cup of water. You do need to cook with the lid off the pot to help it thicken, or at least I did. Also, when I served I had lemon garnish as suggested, but also added a dollop of 'sour cream' by Tofutti, which is vegan. A great and hearty vegan meal! I love AllReciepes.com since I can truly find anything here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Awesome... I make it once a week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Such a great dish! Added a diced carrot and celery stalk. Used my immersion blender at the end to make it smooth. Stirred in some plain yogurt and ate with crusty bread. Used half stock, half water to reduce the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Fantastic soup! Added more dried mint from the beginning when frying the onions. Added 2 cups of diced cooked ham. This recipe is a keeper. Genevia, thanks for sharing it with us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferryal Lackey
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Wow! This soup is amazing! I subsituted 1/2 cup of rice for the bulgar and added 2 carrots and 4 celery stalks to the onions. It was so delicious, I already forwarded the recipe to my brother and sister as we have a middle eastern dad that use to cook for us all the time. An instant favorite that I will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is the best lentil soup EVER! My spouse is middle eastern so I've had my fair share of lentil soups. This is the best! I love that it's a 1 pot meal too- no blender required. I left out the cayenne pepper because I didn't have any, I used a couple dashes of chili pepper instead. Even my fussy 16 month old baby liked it! I will be making this again! Thank you Genevia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheerios
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
As a cook who likes to eat a lot of vegetarian recipes for my main course meal this soup is a very good source of vegetable protein with red lentils that is so easy to make and rewards you with a very delicious bowl of soup with the lemon slices added for a garnish that gives the soup nice tang. The one change that I made was to add oat bran instead of bulgur that did not seem to make a big difference to the outcome of this soup. I would certainly recommend this soup to others who are looking for an easy soup to make that is very nutritious for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I was invited to a Turkish themed dinner. This soup was good. I had never had any Turkish food before and this was a good first step. Good unique flavor. This soup was so thick it didn't even need a bowl, I wished I had some crusty bread to dip. I will pass this receipt on to my mother who is a vegan, it will be a good new addition to her menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Jones Rivera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States