Turkish Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
If you want to try this in other flavors, check out "aplets", "cotlets" or other recipes for turkish delight. Aplets are delicious! I love the traditional recipe, but in the middle east other flavors (lemon, orange, lime, mango) are found also. Just experiment. Rose water is easy to find in any store that carries Indian foods or supplies. Walmart probably has it. Any halal or kosher store will, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
For those who want to try this recipe, replace the icing sugar with corn starch to keep them from sticking to each other. Icing sugar will dissolve because of the moisture in the air and make the cubes become sticky. Starch will prevent that. Make sure you brush off all excess starch for presentation but while in storage leave it well covered. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
They were slimy and didn't stay fresh for long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
i have been searching for a decent recipe for this and was pleased to find this one. While it tastes yummy, it is sticky as all get out and this a it of a pain to get out of the pan....next time i make it i think i will maybe grease the pan a bit before hand and see how that works. Its light and sweet with out being too overpowering. I would also recommend using the nuts. i did it without and its just not the same. i am going to find a recipe now on how to make rosewater. also when you add the cornstarch it doesnt get super thick but thicker....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missbelair1955

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I give it three stars for being relatively easy - my 8yr old and I had fun making it. He likes the taste - actually, he likes all the powdered sugar - and I do not... I have no idea if this is "real" Turkish Delight or not. But the process of making it delighted my son, so despite the fact that I think it's barely edible, it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This recipe is a disaster. I've tried MANY different recipes, and some came out better than others, but this was one of the worst. First of all, it tastes like jell-o. That is not the traditional taste, neither is the orange flavor. The proportions are wrong, and the directions are extremely unclear. True Turkish Delight takes about two hours to cook, and then another night to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilanalu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
It was good, I would use all orange juice next time instead of the 1 1/2 cups of water to make it taste more "orangey". I didn't add nuts at all since I was making it for my son's third grade class. He and his little sister liked it. It set up fine even though it never thickened up much after adding the cornstarch. Fun to make for the Narnia crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I was so surprised on how sticky it was. I could not figure out how to cut that in squares because of the stickiness, even after I sprinkled with a lots of powdered sugar. They look dissapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I had to throw away the pan that I made this candy in - the recipe is ALL WRONG. After having this experience, I did some further research and found out that 1) you should oil your pan before putting the candy in 2) it should sit overnight in a refrigerator and 3) the author of this recipe neglects to mention that you have to simmer the sugar water mixture for one hour. If I had known this ahead of time, I would have prepared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is alright; I am not a dedicated fan of Turkish delight but this was better than shop-bought Turkish delight, though not as good as REAL Middle-Eastern Turkish delight. (obviously!) I'm a little surprised about other reviewers wanting to change the colour; it is meant to be pale, though also meant, as others have mentioned, to be flavoured with rosewater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinleigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States