Turkey with Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Definitely needs more liquid. I added the liquid from my roast that I was cooking and the stufing turned out delicious. I'd say that I added an additional 2 eggs and 1 to 2 cups of apple juice/meat drippings to make this stuffing moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This is absolutely the best stuffing I've ever had. I will never go back to my old standby after tasting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I'm a stuffing lover and this was great. I ommited the raisins and added 3/4 lb mild italian sausage (already cooked). I used less almonds. Did not dry out on me, but I cook my stuffing inside or piled deep to prevent this--covering with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
being that I have always used a name brand stuffing for many many years, this was a nice change of pace. But, I had everyone rate it at dinner and the concensus was 3-4 stars. Common complaint was too much almonds and not enough bread stuffing. I'll tweak it a little to our tastes and try again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
we used this recipe this year as it was my first time making homemade stuffing. Let me just say it was a hit, even with all my none stuffing eaters, i left out the nuts and raisins, but they were not missed at all. my husband wants me to make chicken breast stuffed with the apple stuffing thru out the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Used the stuffing part of this recipe on Thanksgiving with a few alterations ... skipped the almonds, used dried cranberries instead of raisings, and downsized the recipe for a 12 lb turkey (3/4 full recipe). It went over very well, but if I use it again I'd actually downsize it a bit further as it wasn't so great as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I followed the apple stuffing recipe. I replaced the almonds with pine nuts, about 1 cup. I used less cinnamon, only a pinch. Since I didn't want a dairy product with the turkey, I used more chicken builllon and a splash of dry white wine to measure one cup instead of the milk in the recipe. My preference is to thicken the gravy with cornstarch mixed with water or buillon to make a slurry. I prefer a thin gravy rather than a thick one. The stuffing was a great success at our Canadian Thanksgiving feast last week. Since family preferences and traditiions shape our renditions of roast turkey, we can enjoy a wealth of shared ideas. Vive la difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for the day after Christmas just for a twist. The overall opinion was to give it a 3 or 4, mainly because it was a bit too flavorful than typical stuffing. The crunch of the almonds was a neat addition. I used cranberries instead of raisins, which gave it a tang that some didn't like, a do over would probably included keeping with the original recipe's use of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I love this stuffing! I have done it every year for Christmas for the last 5 years, and everyone always raves about it. I don't stuff the bird though always make it separate. Even goes well with Tur-duck-en.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I was a really good recipe and it work great but I suggest to put less almonds or no almonds at all.There was just to much of almonds in there...but other then that delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Welland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States