Turkey with Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I followed the apple stuffing recipe. I replaced the almonds with pine nuts, about 1 cup. I used less cinnamon, only a pinch. Since I didn't want a dairy product with the turkey, I used more chicken builllon and a splash of dry white wine to measure one cup instead of the milk in the recipe. My preference is to thicken the gravy with cornstarch mixed with water or buillon to make a slurry. I prefer a thin gravy rather than a thick one. The stuffing was a great success at our Canadian Thanksgiving feast last week. Since family preferences and traditiions shape our renditions of roast turkey, we can enjoy a wealth of shared ideas. Vive la difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I just made the stuffing though I make my turkey slightly similar anyway. The stuffing was the big hit of the night. My wife has informed me that I also get the make stuffing for Thanksgiving. (She does Thanksgiving dinner, I do Christmas) The only change I made to the recipe was that since I thought that we were out of raisins (I later found them and added them as well) I substituted 2 cups of chopped dates. I didn't have a lid for the casserole I used, so I just covered the dish with foil for the first 30 minutes. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I love this stuffing! I have done it every year for Christmas for the last 5 years, and everyone always raves about it. I don't stuff the bird though always make it separate. Even goes well with Tur-duck-en.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Possibly the best stuffing I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this stuffing again this year. I LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I accidentally cooked this one upside down and it came out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I'm a stuffing lover and this was great. I ommited the raisins and added 3/4 lb mild italian sausage (already cooked). I used less almonds. Did not dry out on me, but I cook my stuffing inside or piled deep to prevent this--covering with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
The apples were great in this, soaked into the meat and was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
we used this recipe this year as it was my first time making homemade stuffing. Let me just say it was a hit, even with all my none stuffing eaters, i left out the nuts and raisins, but they were not missed at all. my husband wants me to make chicken breast stuffed with the apple stuffing thru out the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I only made the stuffing and everyone raved, it was nice to hear because typically it is believed I don't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States