Turkey with Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I just made the stuffing though I make my turkey slightly similar anyway. The stuffing was the big hit of the night. My wife has informed me that I also get the make stuffing for Thanksgiving. (She does Thanksgiving dinner, I do Christmas) The only change I made to the recipe was that since I thought that we were out of raisins (I later found them and added them as well) I substituted 2 cups of chopped dates. I didn't have a lid for the casserole I used, so I just covered the dish with foil for the first 30 minutes. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This is absolutely the best stuffing I've ever had. I will never go back to my old standby after tasting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I only made the stuffing and everyone raved, it was nice to hear because typically it is believed I don't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I'm a stuffing lover and this was great. I ommited the raisins and added 3/4 lb mild italian sausage (already cooked). I used less almonds. Did not dry out on me, but I cook my stuffing inside or piled deep to prevent this--covering with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I accidentally cooked this one upside down and it came out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this stuffing again this year. I LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Possibly the best stuffing I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I love this stuffing! I have done it every year for Christmas for the last 5 years, and everyone always raves about it. I don't stuff the bird though always make it separate. Even goes well with Tur-duck-en.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I followed the apple stuffing recipe. I replaced the almonds with pine nuts, about 1 cup. I used less cinnamon, only a pinch. Since I didn't want a dairy product with the turkey, I used more chicken builllon and a splash of dry white wine to measure one cup instead of the milk in the recipe. My preference is to thicken the gravy with cornstarch mixed with water or buillon to make a slurry. I prefer a thin gravy rather than a thick one. The stuffing was a great success at our Canadian Thanksgiving feast last week. Since family preferences and traditiions shape our renditions of roast turkey, we can enjoy a wealth of shared ideas. Vive la difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This. Is. AMAZING! I tried it first by cutting it down to 4 servings and stuffing a 4 pound chicken and it was incredible. Then, for Thanksgiving I made the full recipe for a 14 pound bird and 9 people. There were no leftovers of either. It's a perfect recipe. The only thing that I adjusted was the raisins, which I thought were great in the original but my boyfriend wanted fewer of. Now I just need to work on not making lumpy gravy, but running it through a strainer before putting it in the gravy boat fools everyone in to thinking you pulled that off. Made exactly to recipe and loved it. Thank you for making my first try at Thanksgiving dinner a success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States