Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is the best soup I've made to date! I will make it every time I have leftover turkey. Here is my two cents. I wanted to include a few more veggies for color and taste. Along with the green onion I chopped some leek, carrot, and shallot. Instead of adding to the broth, I cooked in 1 Tbsp. butter and 1 Tbsp. olive oil adding some garlic at this point. After veggies were softened I added a large can of chicken broth which ends up being more than the recipe calls for but it works. For the rice I used 1 package of Uncle Ben's Wild Rice. I cut the amount of butter and flour to 1/4 cup of each and then added 1/2 c. half and half, 1/2 c. lowfat milk, the poultry seasoning, and the seasoning packet from the Uncle Ben's Rice. I omitted the salt and pepper. There is plenty of salt in the broth and the seasoning mix. Also, I did not use bacon but put some bacon bits on the side so the kids could sprinkle them on. Making these changes cuts quite a bit of the fat. Adding the seasoning packet gives it a great flavor. Trust me it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I was looking for a recipe to use up some leftover turkey and gave this a try. I modified it a little by putting in the crockpot for the afternoon. This recipe was really easy and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is the best turkey rice soup I have ever experienced. I have made it four or five times since I found the recipe back at Thanksgiving time and it has turned out exactly the same each time. I have shared this soup with friends and they love it. I can't say enough to explain the wonderful taste of this soup. I have even subsituted chicken and it still tastes great!! I love cooking from scratch and this is the most consistent recipe I have ever used. Do you get that this is WONDERFUL?? Give it a try you will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
In the interest of reducing the fat in this recipe, I took other reviewers' advice and reduced the butter/flour by half. I also omitted the salt and used unsalted butter instead of margarine. Next time I'll reduce the butter/flour further since the soup still came out extremely thick - like gravy consistency. The flavor is very good but this recipe does need some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This soup is great! We used it with our Thanksgiving leftovers... we added in some carrots and corn to give it a little color. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I had my Thanksgiving a week late so I decided to use my leftover turkey for this soup and I will be making this every year - this soup is great! I only made a few changes: I followed some other reviewers and added some shredded carrots and frozen corn for color. I also used about 3-4 Tbsp of read bacon bits and used fat-free half & half. I think the next time I make this I may try to make it a little lower in fat and follow the previous reviewer and cut the butter and flour amount in half and use only 1 cup of fat-free half & half. This soup is great and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This recipe was really good, and we don't usually eat soup as a meal! I used turkey stock and I didn't have any half in half so I used 1 c. heavy cream and 1 c. skim milk. I also substituted brandy for the sherry, because that is what I had on hand. One other thing, just heat the soup through, if you continue to simmer the soup continues to thicken and this changed the flavor slightly. Excellent recipe I would recommend that anyone try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This recipe is very good, I did omit the bacon though and still tasted good. I have also tried this with cut up chicken and it is tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Great way to use leftover turkey! I added a carrot & potato chopped while the rice was simmering. I also substituted skim milk for the half & half and it was still creamy enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burnt Toast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
What a tasty recipe for leftover turkey! For convenience, I used 4 Tbsp of real bacon bits. I also used fat-free half & half and added some shredded carrots for nutrition and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States