Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Absolutely awesome. Super easy. I added extra celery and some mushrooms - fantastico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Delicious and very easy! I did not have bacon, green onions or poultry seasoning. Instead I chopped an onion, softened the onion with some butter before adding the rice and broth. I also used heavy cream instead of half and half. And for a little mediterranean twist I added a little bit of curry powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I am on the site looking for leftover turkey recipes. I already know we are going to have this. I've made it before and it is FANTASTIC. I have also used chicken. Sometimes I add a little shredded carrot for color and flavor. Please try this - you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
My wife normally doesn't care for soup and she loved this one! In fact, she has insisted that I make it again. I added carrots, peas, corn, and 1/2 c. barley to the recipe, but next time I would add twice as much broth to accomodate the liquid the barley absorbs. Delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Hands down the best wild rice soup I have found! Love it, so much so I have made it twice this week! The only rice I had on hand was a preseasoned wild rice blend from the bulk section of my grocery store. I just cooked that according to the instructions instead of doing step 1. I am glad that I ended up doing it that way, because when it came time for step 3, I used the broth to thin the marj/flour/milk mixture to a more manageable consistency. I like it with either chicken or turkey, and instead of marj I have tried Smart Balance 50/50 blend which worked just fine. The only other thing I do to cut the fat is remove the fat from the bacon and cook just the meat. You get all the flavor, just avoid some of those extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Yum! I didn't have any sherry, so I used Marsala instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This is a very tasty soup. My daughter loved it and asks for it often. I have used chicken instead of the turkey as well. Taste great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
very thick, but I added a handful of barley, this could have contributed. I also used milk instead of cream. next time, add more broth (if adding the barley). Good use of left over turkey. I also added carrots and corn for some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was great! The recipe seemed a little too thick, so I just added more milk and it turned out perfectly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This recipe is very good, I did omit the bacon though and still tasted good. I have also tried this with cut up chicken and it is tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States