Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Rich, creamy and tasty! Didn't seem to be enough rice though. More like a cream soup. My husband didn't even know there was rice in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I was looking for a creative way to use up Thanksgiving leftovers. This was awesome. Tasted a little too "flour-y" for my liking but I will definitely try it again. Added some garlic salt, carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Good base recipe that I could play with to make my own to use ingredients I have on hand, use up the last of the Thanksfgiving turkey and make it lighter so I don't feel guilty eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is the perfect recipe for leftover turkey, because it doesn't TASTE like leftover turkey! This recipe is going in my Thanksgiving file! I threw in some leftover corn and green beans just because they were leftover too and they were great in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Awesome just the way it is! We did not make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
used unsalted butter instead of margarine. used a mixture of 1 cup 1% milk and 1 cup heavy whipping cream instead of half-and-half. used 2/3 cup green onions. used just under a cup of wild rice. used 1/2 cup flour instead of 3/4. used 1/4 tsp pepper instead of 1/8 tsp. added about 8 chopped baby carrots in with the onions and rice at the beginning. turned out delicious; my husband said it was the best soup I've made. next time would add more pepper (or perhaps the wild rice seasoning mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
excellent! we added carrot and celery chunks. a house favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Best thing I've ever made! I couldn't find condensed chicken broth so I just used a 32oz container of the regular stuff and I still added the water. I also used brown rice since I already had it. I didn't have sherry so I used dry vermouth instead which I either doubled or tripled the amount. I also used butter insted of margarine. I accidently doubled the pepper as well and it was still awesome. This soup would be perfect for a bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Oh my gosh! My entire family absolutely loved this! My son, who doesn't like soup at all, thought it was fantastic!!! I didn't have sherry so I used wine instead. Definate keeper. I'm headed out now to buy some more stuff to make another batch. Thank you for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is a keeper! I did add garlic, celery and carrots. Used Fat Free Half and Half. The sherry was a really nice touch. I fried the bacon, drained and then used the same pan to make the roux / cream sauce. Saved a pan and added great flavor from the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States