Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great soup! I did make a number of changes. Rather than the concentrated broth and water, I used all chicken broth. I skipped the bacon entirely. I used 1/4 cup butter and 5T. flour. I skipped the sherry also, because I didn’t have any. I added 1/2 cup carrots and 1/2 cup chopped celery. I shouldn’t have cut the flour quite as much as I did because my soup never really thickened, which caused all the solids in the soup to sink to the bottom. I would have preferred them to be somewhat suspended in the soup, but that is easily corrected next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Fantastic. Creamy! (I used Silk Soy instead of half and half- lacto intolerant) I have nothing negative to say about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I just made this using some leftover turkey breast. This soup had great flavor and was easy to make. I prefer my soup a little more meaty, so I doubled the amount of turkey - since I had it anyway. I also added some carrot that I had in the freezer. If I make this again, I would try adding a little more rice as well. Omitted the bacon. I think the soup is fine without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
First try at homemade soup and it turned out delicious!! Two teen boys ate 2 bowls and husband said it is the last time I cook out of boxes. Oh yes, did I say it turned out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mschiller6
Living In: Lago Vista, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! I played around with this recipe only because I didn’t have everything on hand. I used white onion instead of green onion, brown rice instead of wild, real bacon bits instead of bacon, seasoning salt instead of poultry seasoning, and I omitted the dry sherry completely. Since I was trying to use up turkey from Thanksgiving AND because my husband likes thick, meaty soups, I actually used 4 cups of diced turkey and made the soup very thick….almost like a chowder. It was divine! I’ve made it two more times since and it’s just an incredibly wonderful soup and really simple to make. Oh, and my picky 9 year old AND 2 year old ate it, and the hubby has asked me to make it again! THANK YOU, JORDANNA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Great Recipe! Everyone in the family loved the taste. My youngest even went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Very good, even my 5 year old grandson liked it! I added leftover turkey gravy to it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This soup was fantastic- and I don't say that often! I have had wild rice soups in the past that I just didn't care for. This recipe is a keeper. It's a great way to use up leftover Thanksgiving turkey. Only change I made was to add some chopped celery, carrot, and garlic. The sherry at the end adds great flavor- don't leave that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Even the kids liked this one - I think the bacon sold it! Leftover turkey soup is never one of the favorites but this creamy version was delicious. I used leftover gravy as part of the liquid for cooking the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States