Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I'm usually not a huge fan of leftover turkey, but this soup is fabulous!! I couldn't find wild rice, so I used the Uncle Ben's Long Grain & Wild Rice with the seasoning packet, and it was super flavorful without adding any salt or pepper. I just served the bacon on the side. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I have been using this recipe for about 2 1/2 years now and absolutely love this soup. The first time I used it I was looking for a recipe for leftover Thanksgiving turkey. Since then I have made it numerous times, usually making double batches at a time so I can share it with others or freeze it. I usually don't deviate from the recipe at all and it comes out perfect. Sometimes I do add a little water to thin it down so it goes farther. The only thing I do differently is I use a precooked turkey breast bought from the store chopped in a food processor. Who has time to cook a whole turkey? lol For the rice I use Carolina Long Grain & Wild Rice with Seasoning just because that's what I found when I went shopping. I think it adds excellent flavor overall to the soup. This is one of my favorite recipes and I make it about every 1 to 2 months, even in the summer. In fact I just make a batch and am sitting here eating a bowl as I write this review, soooo yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Best turkey soup I've ever had! Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Yes, this was wonderful. My entire family loved it. I followed some other reviewers recommendations however I kept the majority exactly as listed. I boiled a turkey breast and used 3 cups of the broth and then added two more cups of canned chicken broth. I cut the flour in half and I didn't add the bacon or sherry. I added celery and carrots and would probably add more next time. Overall outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
THIS IS A GREAT LITTLE RECIPE AND I HAVE USED DIFFERENT MEATS AND IT ALWAYS TURN'S OUT GREAT YOU EASILY CHANGE MEAT WITH THE BROTH THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Meh. Kinda bland for our taste. I froze it to use as a base for other recipes that might call for cream of mushroom soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubledee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Wonderful as stated by another review with leek and carrots, and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mr&mrs
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I had some asparagus in the fridge that I needed to use, so I sliced them into 1 inch pieces and added those in with the green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe as is! However, if you get upset with reviewers who make changes, then read no further :) I've made this several times, and have adjusted to accommodate what I had on hand. I use frozen, cubed bacon "lardons" with some chopped up carrot and celery as the first step, rather than adding bacon at the end. Once the bacon has rendered and the carrots are starting to caramelize, then I add the broth. I didn't have green onions on hand or wild rice, so I used long grain rice. I used seasoned salt instead of regular, omitted the poultry seasoning and used milk instead of half-and-half. The sherry adds great flavor, so don't skip that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States