Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My hubby loved it, my kids loved it. I made it with a gluten free flour mix so it would be gluten free. I sometimes make it with just turkey, sometimes just bacon, as a variation (and depending what I have thawed out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Was very disappointed. Very overpowering flour taste, and no favor. I have made cream soups before, and none have turned out like this one. Will not make again. Deleting from recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Made this exactly as written and it was AMAZING!!! My husband and kids (all picky things) had seconds!!! I would recommend it to everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I am thinking it is time to make many recipes from turkey, especially ground turkey! Check the price of ground beef and ground turkey! Turkey is running about 1/3rd the price per pound! I just bought some and will try this recipe. It looks like this is also approved for kidney problems by the ingredients! All of us get swelling now and then and professionals tell us it is kidneys. One can nuke the bacon and sweet corn. leave the corn unshucked until nuked! Corn is good for your kidneys. Add one or two cooked and shucked cobs if you make the large servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This recipe is fast and easy to understand as written. I make no changes and it turned out perfectly. I believe it would be easy to do step 1 in a crockpot, low for 3-4 hours. I'll be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is a delicious soup, and relatively easy also. Like some other reviewers, I used 2% milk rather than half & half, and cut the flour back to about 1/3 cup. The consistency was perfect. It would have been way too thick for us with the full 3/4 cup flour. I also added just a bit more poultry seasoning, and upped the black pepper as well. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I love to use this as a base for other cream soup combination. I used Zataran's Wild Rice but only half the box and it already has seasoning in it. It really turned out great. I think I will use less half and half and perhaps use part milk. I also prefer real butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Greene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This soup is one of our favorites and is a great use of holiday turkey Some substitutions I made were chicken breast for turkey, rice milk for cream, a box of rice/wild rice blend (seasoning packet discarded) and dry Sauvignon blanc (or whatever dry wine we have on hand) for the dry sherry. The chicken I boiled in the 35 minutes of simmering the broth and then removed it to cut into cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years, it is an all time favorite with me and anyone I make it for. Absolutely delicious. Looks beautiful in a bowl with the white creamy broth the black rice, green onions and the bacon. My recipe does not have the sherry in it but will give that addition a try the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Made as written. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States