Turkey Wild Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was really good. We used a combo of white and wild rice but otherwise pretty much followed the recipe as is - very warming and satisfying meal with bread and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I love this recipe. It's delicious, easy peasy to make and it is really inexpensive. Never throw away another chicken/turkey carcass without first making broth from it. If you start out with a good free-range bird, you'll end up in soup heaven when you taste this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
SO good and easy to make. However, I followed all of the measurements and this only served about 4 people, not 8. What I did differently was used homemade chicken stock, used a roasted chicken from the store (skinned and pulled off the bones), and added a sprig of thyme and rosemary (finely chopped). I also used skim milk and omitted the lemon juice since I thought it tasted fantastic before adding it. In addition to the veggies listed, I added some sliced mushrooms and the final product is WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
My picky eater loved this soup. Great recipe for left over turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Loves Food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I thought this turned out really well! I didn't add the almonds and I only had 2 cans of chicken broth that measured out to be exactly 3 cups so I added one 1 cup of water with a heaping tablespoon of this chicken bouillon paste that I had in my cupboard. All in all it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey_interrupted

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good soup. Made 12 servings to match the 3 cups of turkey I had, plus a brown rice, black barley, radish seed mix from Trader Joes. Increased the amount of celery to a cup and included a small chopped zucchini for more veggies. Finished with sliced almonds and 2% milk since I didn't have 1/2 n 1/2 on hand. Nice light soup even though a white cream base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This soup is the BEST! I did change a little - used Rice-A-Roni long grain & wild rice instead of uncooked, and didn't add the lemon juice (I will try that one day) but I made two batches with all my leftover turkey. I have 12 portions frozen for lunches - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZMOUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very yummy and a great way to use up turkey leftovers! As per another review I upped the measurements of celery, carrots, and onion to 1 cup each. Excellent! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puckerup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was fine for leftover turkey, but it was more of a chowder than a soup. I liked it, although it needed some spices, but my husband and daughter found the wild rice to be too chewy, even though it had cooked the proper amount of time, plus some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This soup was wonderful. My entire family ate it, even my picky 5 year olds. I did add a tsp of gound rosemary and used chicken stock instead of turkey stock. But definitely a do over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States