Turkey Wild Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I make a lot of soups, and this one is a big favorite. Easy and tasty. Only changes -- added more onion, carrots and celery, about a cup of each, used black rice, and used whole milk to lower the fat. Next time, I will use 2- or 1-percent. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I thought it was great. Made per instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
One word, DELICIOUS! I added fresh thyme, parsley, mushrooms,extra vegetables from list, only had 2 cups turkey broth so added 2 cans low sodium chicken broth. My husband was skeptical but after 1 bite loved it! While rice was simmering, I chopped vegetables and cut up the cooked turkey. The celery and carrots were not mushy but had little crunchy which we liked. Will definitely make this again.- Dee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very good. I substituted Turkey schmaltz for butter and added rosemary, thyme and sage to taste. A hearty warm soup for cold weather days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
As is, it is just a good start. I found it needed a bit of something so added a bit of sage and that did the trick to make it a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was really good on a cold Texas day, which we do get once in a while! I left out the lemon juice and used lemon pepper for my seasoning. Didn't even realize until later in the day that I had forgotten to add the cream and it still was very good! Saved a few calories too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Very yummy, definitely a keeper. Made exactly as written except for: 8oz sliced mushrooms(needed to use them up), about 3/4 cup each of onions, celery, and diced carrot. Used fat-free half and half, 1cup, which gave it more of a chowdery feel as opposed to a thick soup. Omitted almonds, added a little Italian seasoning which gave it the ooomph it needed. Next time I might use half butter/half broth at the beginning to cut fat down even more. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Wonderful soup that helped use up some ingredients from Thanksgiving. I made a portion without the H&H and almonds for a friend on a low-potassium diet, which was very good. But adding those ingredients really kicks it up a notch. I will definitely make it again. That bit of lemon is genius! P.S. I made the wild rice the night before, which made putting it all together a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Used black rice bc I didn't have wild rice. My roux didn't come out as it usually does which is why the flavor was off to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was the best turkey soup I have ever had. What a great way to use up a turkey! I used double the carrots and way too much turkey but wow it was good! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States