Turkey Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
A tasty recipe that is quick & easy to prepare after spending the day cooking for Thanksgiving. I added diced tomatoes, diced green chilies and corn as others had. It then makes about 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
The family loved it. The neighbors want it! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This has excellent flavor! But I think you are supposed to use crispy tortillas, I used the soft corn ones, and it came out kinda mushy. My mistake though, it still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerrica Wentz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Great tasting! I hate turkey leftovers, but I love tortilla soup, so this recipe came in handy. I followed other advice and did not add tortilla strips to the broth. Instead, I baked some tostada shells, and then broke them up into bits and added them at the very end when I was about to serve the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Great recipe. I added 1 can of corn and 1 can of black beans. Works with chicken also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
My family loved this dish and it has made it into our "favorites." It is great for leftover turkey, but you could also just make it with cooked, diced chicken breast. Here are a few changes I made. I used whole milk instead of cream to cut down a bit on calories. I also added jalapeno, cilantro, and 2 minced garlic cloves to it while cooking, and added fresh-squeezed lime juice into the bowls just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I thought this recipe was great! The only change I made was to substitute whole milk for half and half. The sliced tortilla strips were kind of like noodles in the soup. Delicious! The only thing I might add next time might be corn and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
OH MY GOODNESS, This is soooo good!! I have made several recipes from this web site but this is by far the best. I added garlic and onion along with black beans and corn, OH SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Like others, I modified this recipe a bit (even though I know it's best to prepare acc to directions the first time). I added sauteed onion and doubled the chicken broth and enchilada sauces. I added 2 cans of Rotel tomatoes and a can each of black beans and shoepeg corn. I, too, used 1% milk instead of half and half. My husband really likes this soup, though it's more stew-like in consistency. Next time I'll add less tortillas and one can of diced tomatoes and a single can of Rotel tomatoes. So that means that I'm definitely preparing it again...probably next Thanksgiving! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was terrible! The tortillas turned into an unappetizing mush. I strained the broth and tried to continue by doctoring the remains. The soup is a good idea, but his recipe needs major revisions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States