Turkey Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is an awesome recipe! I followed the advice of others and started with olive oil, onion and garlic. I then threw in a can of tomatoes with chopped jalopeno's, a can of black beans and a can of corn. The soup is wonderful. My sister thought it was fabulous and my coworkers wanted the recipe. Will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This soup is excellent. You can use leftover turkey or chicken. I fry the tortilla strips and place them on top of the soup to give it an extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I tried this recipe with my leftover Christmas Turkey. Everyone fell in love with this soup even those who don't care for spicy foods! I had so many requests that I had to make it again for New Years Eve. This recipe will definitely be added to my families Holiday Favorites cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I just made this soup and am eating it as I write this review! It is really good--nice and spicey. I did make a few changes... I left out the half & half to save on calories. I then added another can of chicken broth, a small can of green chilis & frozen corn. The soup was plenty thick with the corn tortillas. Oh, I also added the jalapenos and cup of tomatoes to the mix, rather than adding it after serving. Great use of leftover turkey! UPDATE: 11/30/2008. I made this soup again tonight (Thanksgiving leftovers again!). I added an entire box of chicken broth, one diced jalapeno, and a can of rotel tomatoes, and left out the half and half. I also added a cup of frozen corn. We topped with sour cream, shredded cheese, and avocado slices. I'm pretty sure the corn tortillas are supposed to be mushy, otherwise the recipe would have you add them just before serving. They serve to thicken the soup and add flavor. My husband and 7 year old had seconds--they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
We have made this soup several times and it is a hit every time. Extremely easy and very delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This soup is awesome! My daughter-in-law makes a huge pot of it every Christmas and serves it with piping hot cornbread. Heaven in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
this receipe was so timely, right after the Thanksgiving celebration. I added a number of ingredients that I thought really added to the flavor. Simmered turkey bones w/generous chunks of meat with the enchilda sauce. Meanwhile, saute 1 onion, 4 garlic cloves, 1/2 c chopped celery, 1 red pepper, then added to the broth. Add 1 c. frozen corn; salt & pepper to taste. Heat then add half n-half & 1/2 c. sour cream; heat slightly. Right before serving, add 2 minced cloves garlic, chopped cilantro & chopped green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
My tortilla pieces got soggy. Something was definitely missing. I didn't like it but my husband did. He'll eat anything though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was a great recipe. I sauted about 1 cup of onions with a clove of garlic before I added the chicken broth and tortillas. I only used about 8 tortillas, but they do dissolve into the soup. I used two cans of broth and added one can of green chilis. I also added 1 cup fat free half and half which gave it a weird apperance but helped cool the heat. A good recipe, I would probably make this again using chicken. Great way to cleanse the palate after thanksgiving and use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I thought this soup was very good and hearty. I added a small can of green chiles and some frozen corn too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States